Job Title: Female* Support Worker/Personal Assistant

Location:   Angmering         

Hourly rate: £10 per hour       

Reference: DP3163            

Hours/shifts: Sunday: 10am to 11am and 7pm to 8pm

Summary

 

  • I’m an independent woman with a good sense of humour looking for a reliable caring person to join my small team of PAs.
  • You will enable me to be independent in my own home and in the community.
  • Tasks include personal care, domestic and social support.
  • You must be a driver with your own vehicle for the social shift.
  • You will assist me in the community particularly with my weekly supermarket shop.
  • I may be able to be flexible with start times of shifts.
  • Your ability to contribute to providing cover for PA holiday and sickness is essential.

 

 

 

Other Requirements

"Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."               

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check

Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description

Typical duties

  • Typical Tasks will include:
  •  
  • Support me with all personal care as required
  • Ensure my safety
  • Support me to monitor my social, emotional and physical needs and report any concerns, after discussing with me, to the named appropriate person/s
  • Support me to start my day and to get ready for bed
  • Supervise and assist me as necessary with when mobilising
  • Supervise and assist me as necessary with washing, showering and dressing
  • Empty commode and assist me with changing pads
  • Prepare my breakfast
  • Assist me to make an evening meal
  • Wash up, clean and  tidy hygiene areas
  • Laundry; load washing machine and tumble drier and fold clothes etc
  • Change the bed linen when required
  • Put out rubbish and recycling
  • Support me to monitor my food and shopping
  • Any other task that is reasonable

Community Support shift:

  • Meet me at the start of your shift at the supermarket e.g. Asda’s
  • Accompany me and support me with my shopping and to visit the cafe
  • Load my shopping into your vehicle and drive to my home to unpack and put away; you must have a full clean UK licence and have personal business insurance included on your car insurance
  • If your car is large enough to take my wheelchair drive me to the shops etc. If not large enough this is not essential as I will use my electric wheelchair.
  • Assist me with my paperwork, letters and making phone calls
  • Be good company!
  • Any other task that is reasonable

Person specification

The successful applicant will be: 

Be able to learn and understand the disabled person’s needs

  • Be female as personal care is involved
  • Be honest and trustworthy
  • Be cheerful and well motivated with a good sense of humour
  • Be reliable with excellent timekeeping
  • Be able to work flexibly
  • Be able to respect privacy and confidentiality
  • Be a driver with own car; you must have a full clean UK licence and have personal business insurance included on your car insurance
  • Be able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
  • Be able to work to high standards of hygiene
  • Refrain from smoking while at work
  • Be willing to be police checked (enhanced DBS). Please note that a criminal record will not necessarily be a bar to obtaining the position
  • Be legally allowed to work in the UK
  • Knowledge or experience of providing care to an adult with disabilities is preferred but not essential