Job Title: Support Worker

Location:  East Dean          

Hourly rate: £8.50ph

Reference: DP3963             

Hours/shifts: Part-time minimum 4 hours a week, 9-11am on Wednesdays & Thursdays. Extra hours available on a flexible basis to be arranged by mutual agreement.

 

Summary

  • I am a lady with Chronic Fatigue Syndrome (M.E.) and also suffer from asthma, multi-chemical sensitivity and Electro-Magnetic sensitivity (E.M.F.S).
  • I am looking for a personal assistant who can provide me with a range of support, helping with domestic tasks, personal care and outings.
  • The PA will also be a point of contact to others as my lifestyle can leave me quite isolated.
  • I have a Canine Partner dog who travels with me, so you will need to like dogs and be able to drive my small car when necessary.
  • It is vital that my PA is willing to not wear perfume, hairspray or perfumed deodorant or use perfumed products in their washing and laundry as this can affect my health.
  • I am looking for someone to start as soon as possible, or from January 2019. If you are unable to do some of the tasks listed, please still consider applying as we can discuss flexible options to the role.

Other Requirements

  • "Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."
  • Must have a UK driving licence          

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check

Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description

Typical duties

Personal care tasks:

Supervision and/or assistance with washing, showering, drying

Help getting into and out of bath/shower as required

Cutting and shaping nails

Assistance with medication management

Ensuring safety when out in the community

 

Domestic tasks:

Food preparation (drinks/snacks/meals)

General cleaning up after meals/snacks

Washing up

General housework, including cleaning, dusting, vacuuming, sweeping, mopping

Tidying

Taking out rubbish

Helping with laundry, washing and drying

Loading and unloading the washing machine

Laundry, hanging out to dry, ironing, putting away

Changing bed linen

Bed making

Minor household maintenance eg. Changing lightbulbs, taking down curtains for washing

Helping to keep my mobility equipment clean and in good condition (wheelchair & buggy)

Correspondence eg. Form-filling, assisting with household paperwork

Making phone calls on my behalf

 

Community living tasks:

Driving me in my car and accompanying me to medical and other appointments

Driving, accompanying and assisting me with walking my Canine Partner dog

Driving, accompanying and assisting me on outings to the library, garden centres etc.

 

Other tasks:

Any other reasonable task upon mutual agreement

Person specification

The successful applicant will be: 

  • Female * due to personal care needs
  • Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
  • Reliable with good time-keeping
  • Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
  • Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
  • Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
  • Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
  • Honest and cheerful
  • Creative
  • Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
  • Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
  • Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety