Location: Rustington / Hourly rate: £9.25 / Reference: DP6114

Summary

Reliable, friendly PAs wanted to support me to live independently in my own home. I am a young woman with a busy life. I work part time and enjoy reading, cycling and singing.

Tasks include domestic support, admin and support in the community including meal planning and shopping.

You must be a driver and happy to drive me in your car. 

A small amount of personal care is involved

Hours/Shifts

2 hours per week to be discussed 

Other Requirements

*Sch. 9 s. 1 (1) Equality Act 2010 applies 

Must be comfortable with pets

Must have a UK driving licence

Must have access to own vehicle

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check

Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description

About the employer:

The PA will report directly to my mother who is the employer. However you will need to liaise with me on a day to day basis. I enjoy reading and cycling. I work part time and also sing in a choir. 

Nature of the work:

The nature of the work is to support me in my home and in the community.  

Typical duties

  • Maintaining my safety; this involves helping me to risk assess in the home and in the community. 
  • Support and prompt me to eat healthily and ensure food items are not out of date
  • Support me to make menu plans, shopping lists and to accompany me shopping
  • Drive me in your vehicle; you must have a full clean UK licence and have personal business insurance included on your car insurance
  • Prompt and support me with all aspects of cleaning and tidying to ensure my home is hygienic and safe
  • Support and assist me to organise my home and contents e.g. sorting cupboards, clothes etc
  • Support me to manage my finances and help me to budget 
  • Assist me with admin, paperwork, letters and filing
  • Support me to make health appointments
  • Support me if I am feeling anxious, upset or depressed. If after talking to me you have concerns about my health speak to my mother. 
  • Any other task that is reasonable 

Person specification

The successful applicant will:

  • Be able to learn and understand the disabled person’s needs and work in a person centred way
  • Be able to complete tasks to high standards of hygiene and health and safety
  • Be a well organised person and enjoy household admin
  • Be honest and cheerful, patient and kind
  • Be reliable with excellent timekeeping
  • Be able to respect privacy and confidentiality
  • Be able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
  • Be a driver with own car; you must have a full clean UK licence and have personal business insurance included on your car insurance
  • Be willing to be police checked (enhanced DBS). Please note that a criminal record will not necessarily be a bar to obtaining the position
  • Be able to speak and write English to a reasonable standard
  • Be legally allowed to work in the UK
  • Be happy working in a home with a cat 
  • Please note that experience of working with or caring for people with disabilities is preferred