Job Title: Female Support Worker/Personal Care Assistant
Location: Chichester
Hourly rate: £12.00 to start, increasing after probationary period
Reference: DP4135
Hours/shifts: Monday-Friday, 9.00am-11.00am (10 Hours a week). Additional hours available

Summary 
• I am an adventurous 50 year old lady with muscular dystrophy and a full time wheelchair user
• I enjoy going out and seeing and experiencing new places
• I also like taking my dogs for a walk to the beach and the woods
• I am looking for an experienced female support worker/PA to help with personal care and domestic tasks. You would need to have a great sense of humour and not be easily offended as my sense of humour can be described as a little risqué.
• You may be required to accompany me on trips out of normal working hours e.g. shopping, art class, concerts.
• There will be some domestic cleaning tasks required e.g. vacuuming.

Other Requirements
• "Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."
• Must be comfortable with pets
• Must have a UK driving licence and be willing drive my WAV vehicle
• Access to own vehicle an advantage but not essential
• Other :
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description
Typical duties

Domestic -
Laundry, hanging out to dry, ironing, putting away
Helping with laundry, washing and drying
Loading and unloading the washing machine
Loading and unloading tumble dryer/washing line
Changing bed linen
Bed making
General cleaning
Taking out rubbish
General housework, including cleaning, dusting and vacuuming.
Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.
Shopping
Maintenance of small garden, perhaps half an hour a week
Tidying
Correspondence e.g. reading letters, help writing replies, form-filling, assisting with household paperwork
Making phone calls on my behalf when I am too unwell to do this
Making tea for the employer's guests
Support with maintenance of my garden during summer months

Personal Care:
• Help getting into and out of bath/shower as required
• To be on call when employer takes bath
• Assistance with applying cream
• General hair/skin care
• Catheter care
• Using the toilet
• Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings
• There will be use of a hoist. Training given if needed
• Getting in and out of the wheelchair ('transferring')
• Mealtimes e.g. cutting up food, assistance to eat
• Physiotherapy exercises

Social:
• Accompanying and assisting employer on shopping trips when required
• Accompany employer when accessing social and leisure activities, like gigs
• Accompanying employer to doctors/hospital appointments when required
• Accompanying when clothes-buying, including help with un/dressing and lifting clothes on/off the rails.
• Occasional longer journeys
• Accompanying on trips out e.g. Art classes, Concerts.
• The above duties will involve driving the employer in their car
• Whilst on duty at the employer’s home watching TV and assisting with craft activities

Person specification
The successful applicant will be:
• Female * due to personal care needs
• Happy to wear PPE
• Comfortable with dogs
• Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
• Reliable with good time-keeping
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
• Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
• Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
• Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
• Honest and cheerful
• Creative
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
• Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives