Job Title: Female Support Workers/Personal Care Assistants
Location: Findon, Worthing, West Sussex
Hourly rate: £12.00 (day time rate) / £10.00 (overnight rate)
Hours/shifts:
• 9pm to 5.30am Saturday night to Sunday morning
• 8am to 9.30am Sunday morning
• 10.30am to 3pm Sunday
• 5pm to 6pm Sunday evening
• The above shifts may also be available to cover PA leave on other days
• Can be a job share between several PAs. Please apply for the shifts you are interested
• in.

Summary
• We are a friendly and caring couple with a good sense of humour. We used to be very busy and very active but we are now largely housebound due to our disabilities.
• Our conditions include severe arthritis, spondylolisthesis and ileostomy.
• We are looking to recruit friendly, organised and upbeat carers who will support us to lead as fulfilling a life as possible in our home.
• We have visits from family and friends whenever possible, and we still enjoy cooking and spending time in the garden.
• We require assistance with personal care, domestic tasks and support to attend appointments.

Other Requirements
• Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9
• UK driving licence and access to own vehicle desirable, not essential
• All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description
Typical duties – alterations to my needs/circumstances may occur over time so the tasks/activities listed below may need to be reviewed and changed when required.

Domestic -       
Laundry, hanging out to dry, ironing, putting away
Loading and unloading the washing machine and tumble dryer
Changing bed linen and making bed
Taking out rubbish
General housework, including tidying bathroom, kitchen and living room
Cleaning, dusting and vacuuming
Maintaining clean and hygienic toilet and bathing environments
Minor household maintenance e.g. changing light bulbs, taking down curtains for washing
Cooking meals and drink preparation
Serving and clearing food and drink
Loading and unloading dishwasher/washing up items unsuitable for dishwasher before bed time and as required at other times
Shopping for miscellaneous items as necessary
Compiling weekly online shopping list
Placing telephone/online shopping orders; receiving and putting shopping away 
In the summer, watering the garden
Correspondence e.g. reading letters, help writing replies, form-filling, assisting with household paperwork, updating calendar/appointments
Making phone calls on our behalf if we are unable to do this
Making tea/serving refreshments for guests

Assisting with Mobility:

Assisting the lady with all transfers (on and off bed/chair/toilet/commode using appropriate mobility aid (frame/hoist))
Assisting the lady when mobilising between rooms using appropriate frame
Assisting the lady to access the garden
Pushing the lady and gentleman in wheelchair or commode
Lifting the folded wheelchair in/out of car

Personal Care: 

Supervision and assistance with washing and bathing/showering, drying, hair washing/drying/brushing as required.
Help getting into bath/shower as required


Assistance with toileting and the lady’s stoma care throughout the day, including
emptying and changing stoma bag as necessary
Prompting and assisting the gentleman to wear and change continence products
Assistance with toileting and the lady’s stoma care during the night (empty/change stoma
bag at approx. 2-3.00am which would take approx 30 mins. Before leaving in the morning
– checking/emptying/changing stoma as required and assisting to use toilet).
Emptying and cleaning commode buckets
Assistance with applying cream
Setting up clothes for the gentleman
Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings
Assistance with medication i.e. helping to take tablets from foil/packets, prompting them
to take and checking none have been dropped, applying pain-relief patch and ointments
Mealtimes e.g. cutting up food
Assistance to do physiotherapy exercises

Social:         
Accompanying and assisting on shopping trips when required
Accompanying to doctors/hospital appointments when required
Accompanying when clothes-shopping, including help with un/dressing and lifting clothes on/off the rails.
Occasional longer journeys
Accompanying on trips out e.g. to the garden centre
Driving and accompanying to social events – own car would be desirable, but not essential
Accompanying to social meetings e.g. friends, family
Assisting with craft activities

Undertake other tasks that might be reasonably expected

Person specification
The successful applicant will be:      
*Female due to personal care needs
Previous experience of stoma management would be desirable
Punctual and reliable with good time-keeping
Respectful of the employer’s privacy, confidentiality and preferences
Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
Patient and possess excellent communication and interpersonal skills
Honest and cheerful
Creative
Able to cook and prepare healthy and balanced meals
Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety and infection control
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives