Job Title: Female Support Workers/Personal Care Assistants
Location: Bognor (would like to move to Worthing in the future)
Hourly rate: £13.00
Reference: BRR7544
Hours/shifts: Up to 15.5 hours per week – hours may vary depending on need. Approx. 3-5 hour shifts spread over 3-5 days. Start time – afternoons, after 12.00. Flexibility on hours required.

Summary

  • I am a 28 year old lady with ADHD, learning and mental health needs.
  • I currently live in Bognor but looking to move to Worthing at some point in the future.  
  • I work 2 days per week in Hove so some support shifts could be carried out there or at a mutually convenient place between Bognor and Hove if needed.
  • I enjoy activities like going out for a coffee.
  • I need support and encouragement with domestic tasks, meal planning and preparation, shopping, managing money, accessing the community and going to appointments.
  • I also need prompting/reminding with personal care tasks
  • I sometimes become upset/angry and need support to manage my emotions.
  • You should be friendly, patient, positive, and reliable.
  • You must be able to motivate and encourage me to carry out daily living tasks.
  • I can access public transport but need support with managing new routes.
  • You would report to my mother who is the employer.

Other Requirements 

  • "Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."
  • Must be happy to work in a smoking environment
  • Other:

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check if required.

Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description

Typical duties:

Domestic -

Support/encouragement with:-

Doing laundry

Changing bed linen and bed making

Taking out rubbish

General housework, including cleaning, dusting, tidying and vacuuming.

Cleaning bathroom and kitchen regularly

Food hygiene and safety

Menu planning, preparing drinks, snacks and meals.  Making healthy food and drink choices. 

Shopping

Correspondence e.g. reading letters, help writing replies, form-filling, assisting with household paperwork

Support with making phone calls

Personal Care -

Support/encouragement with:-

  • Washing and bathing/showering – towelling dry/ drying hair
  • General hair/skin care
  • Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings
  • Wearing weather and activity appropriate clothing
  • Assistance with medication
  • Cutting finger and toe nails regularly

Social:

Accompanying and assisting on shopping trips when required

Accompany when accessing social and leisure activities e.g. going out for a coffee.

Making medical/health appointments and accompany to doctors/hospital appointments when required

I am able to communicate but need support with expressing myself fully

Support with managing emotions – calm/reassure when upset/angry

Person specification

  • Female due to personal care needs
  • Able to tolerate the employer smoking in the work place
  • Able to calm and reassure
  • Positive and encouraging
  • Respectful of the client’s privacy and confidentiality
  • Reliable with good time-keeping
  • Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
  • Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
  • Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
  • Patient and understanding
  • Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
  • Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
  • Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety

Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives