Job Title: Live-in Female Personal Care Assistants/Support Workers
Location: Findon, Worthing, West Sussex
Hourly rate: 77 hours a week = £808.50 (equal to £10.50 per hour). NB: Hours of work may increase if additional hours are required to meet our needs.
Reference:BRR7095
Hours/shifts:
- 1 week in 2 live-in, or 10 day live-in (please state preference)
- Approx 11 hours per day (including up to 2 x 30-minute wakes during the night)
- Shift times to be arranged depending on individual preferences and needs.

Summary
• Live-in carers required for a disabled couple. Our daughter would be your employer.
• We are friendly and caring people with a good sense of humour. Our conditions include severe arthritis, spondylolisthesis and ileostomy. We used to be very busy and very active but we are now largely housebound due to our disabilities.
• We are looking to recruit friendly, organised and upbeat carers who will support us to lead as fulfilling a life as possible in our home.
• We have visits from family and friends whenever possible, and we still enjoy cooking and spending time in the garden.
• We require assistance with personal care, domestic tasks and support to attend appointments.
Other Requirements
• Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9
• UK driving licence and access to own vehicle desirable, not essential
• All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.
Job Description
Typical duties – alterations to our needs/circumstances may occur over time so the tasks/activities listed below may need to be reviewed and changed when required.
Domestic -
Laundry, hanging out to dry, ironing, putting away
Loading and unloading the washing machine and tumble dryer
Changing bed linen and making bed
Taking out rubbish
General housework, including tidying bathroom, kitchen and living room
Cleaning, dusting and vacuuming
Maintaining clean and hygienic toilet and bathing environments
Minor household maintenance e.g. changing light bulbs, taking down curtains for washing
Cooking meals and drink preparation
Serving and clearing food and drink
Loading and unloading dishwasher/washing up items unsuitable for dishwasher before bed time and as required at other times
Shopping for miscellaneous items as necessary
Compiling weekly online shopping list
Placing telephone/online shopping orders; receiving and putting shopping away
In the summer, watering the garden
Correspondence e.g. reading letters, help writing replies, form-filling, assisting with household paperwork, updating calendar/appointments
Making phone calls on our behalf if we are unable to do this
Making tea/serving refreshments for guests

Assisting with Mobility:

Assisting lady with all transfers (on and off bed/chair/toilet/commode using appropriate mobility aid (frame/hoist))
Assisting lady when mobilising between rooms using appropriate frame
Assisting lady to access the garden
Pushing lady or gentleman in wheelchair or commode
Lifting the folded wheelchair in/out of car

Personal Care:
• Supervision and assistance with washing and bathing/showering, drying, hair washing/drying/brushing as required
• Help getting into and out of bath/shower as required
• Assistance with toileting and lady’s stoma care throughout the day, including emptying and changing stoma bag as necessary
• Prompting and assisting gentleman to wear and change continence products
• Assistance with toileting and lady’s stoma care during the night (empty/change stoma bag and use toilet between approx. 2-3am and 5-6am which would take approx 30 mins.)
• Emptying and cleaning commode buckets
• Assistance with applying cream
• Setting up clothes for gentleman
• Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings
• Assistance with medication i.e. helping to take tablets from foil/packets, prompting them to take and checking none have been dropped, applying pain-relief patch and ointments
• Mealtimes e.g. cutting up food
• Assistance to do physiotherapy exercises
Social:
Accompanying and assisting on shopping trips when required
Accompanying to doctors/hospital/other appointments when required
Accompanying when clothes-shopping, including help with un/dressing and lifting clothes on/off the rails.
Occasional longer journeys
Accompanying on trips out e.g. to the garden centre
Driving and accompanying to social events – own car would be desirable, but not essential
Accompanying to social meetings e.g. friends, family
Assisting with craft activities

Undertake other tasks that might be reasonably expected

Person specification
The successful applicant will be:
• *Female due to personal care needs
• Previous experience of stoma management would be desirable
• Punctual and reliable with good time-keeping
• Respectful of the employer’s privacy, confidentiality and preferences
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
• Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
• Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
• Patient and possess excellent communication and interpersonal skills
• Honest and cheerful
• Creative
• Able to cook and prepare healthy and balanced meals
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
• Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety and infection control
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives