Job Title: Live-In Female Support Workers/Personal Care Assistants
Location: Findon, Worthing, West Sussex
Hourly rate: £12.00 (day time rate) / £10.00 (overnight rate)
Reference: BRR7095
Hours/shifts:

  • 1 week in two live-in
  • Saturday – Monday approx 11 hours per day, and Tuesday – Friday approx 8 hours per day (including up to 2 x 30-minute wakes during the night)
  • Working in shifts of 1 week e.g. 1 week on, 1 week off.

Summary
• I am a friendly and caring woman with a good sense of humour. I used to be very busy and active but due to severe rheumatoid arthritis I am now housebound. I also have an ileostomy which I find difficult to manage because of pain in my hands.
• I am looking to recruit friendly, organised and upbeat carers who will support me to lead as fulfilling a life as possible with my husband in our home.
• We have regular visits from family and friends and whenever possible I still enjoy cooking and spending time in the garden.
• I require assistance with personal care, domestic tasks and support to attend appointments.
Other Requirements
• Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9
• UK driving licence and access to own vehicle desirable, not essential
• All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description
Typical duties – alterations to my needs/circumstances may occur over time so the tasks/activities listed below may need to be reviewed and changed when required.

Domestic -
Laundry, hanging out to dry, ironing, putting away
Loading and unloading the washing machine and tumble dryer
Changing bed linen and making bed
Taking out rubbish
General housework, including tidying bathroom, kitchen and living room
Cleaning, dusting and vacuuming
Minor household maintenance e.g. changing light bulbs, taking down curtains for washing
Meal and drink preparation e.g. breakfast and other meals
Loading and unloading dishwasher/washing up items unsuitable for dishwasher before bed time and as required at other times
Shopping
Placing telephone/online shopping orders; receiving and putting shopping away
In the summer, watering the garden
Correspondence e.g. reading letters, help writing replies, form-filling, assisting with household paperwork, updating calendar/appointments
Making phone calls on my behalf if I am unable to do this
Making tea/serving refreshments for guests

Assisting with Mobility:

Assisting with all transfers (on and off bed/chair/toilet/commode using appropriate mobility aid (frame/hoist))
Assisting when mobilising between rooms using appropriate frame
Assisting me to access the garden
Pushing me in wheelchair or commode
Lifting the folded wheelchair in/out of car

Personal Care:
• Supervision and assistance with washing and bathing/showering, drying, hair washing/drying/brushing as required
• Help getting into and out of bath/shower as required
• Assistance with toileting and stoma care throughout the day, including emptying and changing stoma bag as necessary.
• Assistance with toileting and stoma care during the night (empty/change stoma bag at approx. 2-3.00am which would take up to 30 mins. Before leaving in the morning – checking stoma and emptying and assisting to use toilet if necessary).
• Assistance with applying cream
• Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings
• Assistance with medication i.e. helping to take tablets from foil/packets, applying pain-relief patch
• Mealtimes e.g. cutting up food
• Assistance to do physiotherapy exercises

Social:
Accompanying and assisting employer on shopping trips when required
Accompanying employer to doctors/hospital appointments when required
Accompanying when clothes-shopping, including help with un/dressing and lifting clothes on/off the rails.
Occasional longer journeys
Accompanying on trips out e.g. to the garden centre
Driving and accompanying to social events – own car would be desirable, but not essential
Accompanying to social meetings e.g. friends, family
Assisting with craft activities

Undertake other tasks that might be reasonably expected

Person specification
The successful applicant will be:
• *Female due to personal care needs

•Able to live in with the client on a one week on, one week off basis

• Previous experience of stoma management would be desirable
• Punctual and reliable with good time-keeping
• Respectful of the employer’s privacy, confidentiality and preferences
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
• Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
• Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
• Patient and possess excellent communication and interpersonal skills
• Honest and cheerful
• Creative
• Able to cook and prepare healthy and balanced meals
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
• Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety and infection control
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives