Job Title: Male* Buddy/ Friend and Personal Assistant
Location: Petworth Area
Hourly rate: £12
Reference: NDS5937
Hours/shifts: 2 hours per week term time and 5 hours per week in the school holidays. Days and times can be flexible.

Summary 

I am a sociable 17 year old with Cerebral Palsy, who loves music and sport, especially wheelchair Boccia!

I am looking for some one I can relate to, a buddy or friend, who can support me to get out so I can enjoy the things I love and spend some time away from the family.
I’m into quizzes and computer science and I would like to go bowling, to the cinema, the park, go shopping and practice money and life skills. I think this role could be a lot of fun!
I have gastrostomy feeds and can have times of physical sickness. The role may require some personal care, when I am not feeling too well.

Other Requirements 
• * "Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."
• Must have a UK driving license and be happy to drive a mobility car either their own or the employers. Mileage can be offered. It is very important I can get out and about

• Must have patience when communicating - with time you will get to know and understand me.

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description
Typical duties
Driving to and from events/locations, using the employers mobility car or the PA’s own car.
Accompanying me during outings.
Interpreting my communication, if needed.

Personal Care:
• Giving gastrostomy feeds.
• Giving prepared meals on occasion.
• Assistance to support personal cleaning when and if required.
• Getting changed/dressing.
• Changing pads if required.

Social:
• Accompany me when accessing social and leisure activities, such as bowling.
• Occasional longer journeys.
• Accompanying me on trips out e.g. cinema, bowling to the park, pier, shopping.
• Driving and accompanying me to social events such as music concerts.
• Attending social events, attending therapies and disabilities groups.
• Driving my power chair on occasions such as crossing a road or when I am tired.
• Some of the above duties will involve driving the employers mobility car or the PA’s own car.

Person specification
The successful applicant will be: (please add in/delete as applicable)
• Feel like a friend more than a carer to me.
• Ideally have knowledge of gastrostomy feeds or is willing to undertake training on this.
• Ideally have basic knowledge of Makaton or would be willing to learn.
• Be well organised and able to maintain professional standards and confidentiality.
• Be consistently punctual, reliable and trustworthy.
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative.
• Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties.
• Patient and possess excellent listening skills, to help me manage my anxieties.
• Honest, creative and fun.
• Be a good role model.
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives