Job Title: Male* Personal Care Assistant

Location: Barnham           

Hourly rate:  £8.50 per hour      

Reference: DP1465            

Hours/shifts: Up to 3 hours available two days a week

More hours may become available in the future

 

Summary

  • I am looking for a PA or a team of PAs to support my 17 year old son who has autism and sometimes has seizures.
  • I am looking for a creative individual who can plays games and watch DVDs with my son, as well as thinking of fun activities to do outdoors. 
  • My son needs support with changing pads and administering medication which is sprinkled into his food at mealtimes.
  • Occasionally, you will be required to push him in a wheelchair which he uses if he gets tired.  He has lots of energy and the right person(s) will be fit and healthy to undertake the required duties

 

Other Requirements

  • "Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."
  • Must be comfortable with pets
  • Must have a UK driving licence
  • Must have access to own vehicle

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check

Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description

Typical duties

Domestic -      

Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.

Helping with hanging out and bringing in washing

General household tasks to fill time if time

Personal Care:

Washing and bathing/showering –drying hair

Help getting into and out of bath/shower as required

Assistance with applying cream

General hair/skin care

Using the toilet on occasions and changing nappies

Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings

Getting into bed on evening shifts

Help with dispensing tablets – adding medication (Topamax) to meals

Assistance with medication – administer Midazolam if he has a seizure that lasts longer than 5 minutes.

Helping with other aspects of personal care as required, for example assisting my son to get changed in swimming pool.

Getting in and out of the wheelchair ('transferring') when he uses it

Mealtimes e.g. cutting up food, assistance to eat

 

Social:            

Attending specialist hospital appointments at the Children’s Centre when required.

Accompany my son when accessing social and leisure activities.

Accompanying employer to doctors/hospital appointments when required

Accompanying on trips out e.g. the beach or in the woods.

On days out lifting the folding wheelchair in/out of car, pushing my son’s wheelchair when out. 

Whilst on duty in my home watching TV programmes with my son and playing games.

Playing ball games outdoors and thinking of other fun activities.

Person specification

The successful applicant will be: 

 Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality

  • Reliable with good time-keeping
  • Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
  • Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
  • Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
  • Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
  • Honest and cheerful
  • Creative
  • Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
  • Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
  • Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety

Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.