Location: East Grinstead / Hourly rate: £9 / Reference: DP4966

Summary

  • We are looking for someone to assist with looking after our 13 year old son after school.
  • Jack has quadriplegic cerebral palsy, is in a wheelchair and is unable to lift or transfer himself.
  • He also has epilepsy which is well controlled with medication.
  • We need a fun but responsible person to be at our home for when Jack returns from school.
  • He will need entertaining mainly but also help for him to have his dinner and assistance with personal care.
  • His routine on returning from school is catching up with what he has been up to at school, while his dinner is being prepared.
  • Check to see if he requires personal care (changing pad and/or toilet visit).
  • Helping him to have his dinner (his hand movements are restricted) and gastrostomy feed given if not much eaten.
  • If you haven’t done this before, we will ensure we show you and that you are comfortable doing it. It isn’t a must, but will be helpful!
  • Once he has had his dinner and a little break to chat, go through a book or watch a bit of telly, he will go up in his lift to get ready for his bath/shower. I will take over at this point unless otherwise agreed. 

Hours/Shifts

Monday – Friday from 4:30pm to 6:30/7pm during term time, however, some days a little later may be requested but is certainly not an expectation. No weekends necessary. 

Other Requirements

  • Must be comfortable with pets
  • Must have a UK driving licence
  • Must have access to own vehicle
  • All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
  • Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description

Nature of the work:

We are a 2 parent, full time working family with 2 children, Jack (13 years old) and Amelie (16 months old) and a cat called Pika (pronounced “Peeka”). I work locally from 9am – 4:30pm and my fiancé commutes to London Monday – Friday and doesn’t usually get home until 8pm or later. After picking my daughter up from nursery I will be home at around 5pm-5:30pm.

Our house is fully equipped for our son with a through-floor lift for him to be able to easily go up to his room in his wheelchair. He has a ceiling track hoist in his bedroom and there is also another ceiling track hoist in the bathroom to help lower him into the bath. His has an electric bed which is height adjustable as well as supine position adjustable. 

Person specification

The successful applicant will:

  • Be DBS checked or be happy to be DBS checked
  • Eligible to work in the UK
  • Have a full, clean, UK driving licence
  • Ideally have previous experience in a caring role
  • Be confident in their own ability to care for someone else’s personal care needs including changing continence pads if needed.
  • Be reliable and on time and to be conscientious with notifying us if need to be absent and/or unable to come in at agreed time.
  • Be happy, bubbly and positive as Jack loves to joke and chat!
  • Be able to tolerate listening to Ed Sheeran – a lot!
  • Be proactive with creating activities and things to do.
  • Be conscientious with keeping relatively tidy throughout time spent in the house.