Job Title: Personal and Social Support Assistant
Location: Bognor Regis
Hourly rate:£9.50
Reference: MP6547
Hours/shifts: Two positions available. 9 hpw and 8 hpw

Monday: 08:30am - 10am, 10:00am – 1pm
Tuesday: 08.30am – 10.00am
Wednesday: 08:30am- 10am, 10:00am – 1pm
Thursday: 08.30am – 11.00am
Friday: 08:30am- 10am, 10:00am – 1pm
Saturday: 08:30am – 09:30am

Days/times will occasionally need to be slightly flexible due to my fluctuating health.

Summary 
Personal Care Assistant
Domestic Support Assistant
Social Support Assistant
• I am a lady in my late 50’s looking for assistance with food preparation, personal care, emotional support, domestic needs and support to access my local community
• I have MS and hearing loss. This makes it difficult for me to carry out general day to day tasks.
• I sometimes have low moods and require motivation to keep myself occupied during these times.
• I require assistance to maintain my nutritionals needs and preparing drinks and meals.
• It is important that I have support with my personal care such as assistance showering, drying and dressing/undressing.
• Because my disability prevents me from carrying out housework I will require assistance with laundry, cleaning, tidying, washing dishes, changing bedclothes etc
• My hearing loss makes it hard to communicate over the phone. I require support to make/receive calls.


Although I have my own adapted vehicles, I would prefer all applicants to have their own car.


• I need help remembering to take my medication.• I need help to deal with admin tasks around the house.
• I need help with my daily routine and driving.
• This would be a very rewarding role for the right person.


Other Requirements 
• "Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."
• Must be comfortable with pets
• Must have a UK driving licence
• Must have access to own vehicle
• Other :
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.


Typical duties
Domestic - 
Laundry, hanging out to dry, ironing, putting away
Loading and unloading the washing machine
Loading and unloading tumble dryer/washing line
Bed making
General cleaning
General housework, including cleaning, dusting and vacuuming.
Minor household maintenance eg changing light bulbs, taking down curtains for washing
Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.
Tidying
Correspondence e.g. reading letters, help writing replies, form-filling, assisting with household paperwork
Making/receiving phone calls on my behalf when required

Plus any other related tasks as required.


Personal Care: 
• Supervision and/or assistance with showering, drying, hair washing/ brushing as required
• To be on call when employer takes bath/shower
• General hair/skin care
Motivate and encourage me to keep busy when I start to feel down
• Support accessing the toilet as required
• Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings
• Assistance with transferring between chair/wheelchair/car etc
• Help with prompting medication
• Assistance with medication i.e. helping to take tablets from foil/packets
• Contacting GP if my physical or mental health deteriorates

Plus any other related tasks as required.

Social: 
• Accompanying and assisting employer on shopping trips when required
• Accompany employer when accessing social and leisure activities
• Accompanying employer to doctors/hospital appointments when required
• Accompanying when clothes-buying, including help with un/dressing and lifting clothes on/off the rails.
• Occasional longer journeys
• Accompanying on general trips out
• Driving and accompanying to social events and general activities within the local community
• The above duties may involve driving the employer in the PA’s car, lifting the folding wheelchair in/out of car, pushing the employer’s wheelchair when out.
Plus any other related tasks as required.

Employees must be willing to drive me in their own vehicle if required in return for a payment or 35p per mile.

Person specification
The successful applicant will be: 
• Female/* due to personal care needs
• Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
• Reliable with good time-keeping
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
• Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
• Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
• Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
• Honest and cheerful
• Motivating and calming
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
• Computer literate
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
• Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.