Job Title: Personal Assistant
Location: Croydon - Norbury
Hourly rate: £9.75 to start, possibly negotiable for the right applicant/s
Reference: AH351
Hours/shifts: 25 hours per week. Ideally evening and weekends, times to be discussed.

Summary
My son is a young man who is very sociable, helpful and considerate with an inquisitive nature. He loves to dance, enjoys playing cards, watching certain TV programmes and going to the cinema. He enjoys days out, cycling, swimming with support and drama club. He doesn’t like loud noises.
My son needs some guidance and prompting to complete daily tasks fully, this includes personal care, getting dressed and meal preparation.
Some communication barriers exist but he uses a pre-programmed iPad to express his views and make requests. He is also able to use basic Makaton.
My son likes to get out for daily exercise but would need to use his wheelchair for longer journeys.
This role is to support my son with the above tasks and accessing the community for activities and socialisation. He will need some support to be mindful of safety in and away from the home and guidance to become more independent.

Other Requirements
• Non smoker required due to medical reasons

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description - Typical duties
Domestic:
Supervision, prompting and guidance to:
- prepare drinks, snacks and meals
- cut up food and remind to chew/eat slowly
- make bed and tidy bedroom

Personal Care:
Supervision, prompting and guidance to:
- shower, wash and dry
- assist with buttons and fastenings on clothing
- brush teeth
- ensure he is clean after using the toilet and washes hands
- take medication (when needed, including inhalers)
- help with other aspects of personal care as required, for example assisting to get changed in swimming pool/gym
- physiotherapy/SALT exercises (Speech and Language Therapy)

Social:
Escorting and assisting to:
- access the community for activities including: cycling, swimming, drama club, cinema
- have regular/daily exercise but longer walks would require his wheelchair
- push my son in the wheelchair, when necessary
- lift the folding wheelchair in/out of car
- promote safety in the community and near roads
- develop coping strategies for unfamiliar situations
- improve his expressive and receptive communication skills by use of an app on the iPad (Proloquo2go)

Person specification
The successful applicant will be/have:
Previous experience working with those with special needs, would be beneficial
Non-smoker due to medical reasons
Should have had 2 COVID-19 vaccinations upon start of role
Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
Reliable with good time-keeping
Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
Energetic and on the ball
Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
Honest, cheerful and creative
Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Car owner and driver desirable

Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives