Job Title: Personal Assistant/ Buddy
Location:  Shoreham By Sea          
Hourly rate:     £10 per hour   
Reference:     DP2207        
Hours/shifts: One regular weekday 9.30am to 4.30pm. This vacancy, starting after Christmas, is for Tuesdays but could probably be changed to suit a new PA. There is also a vacancy for occasional Saturdays 11am to 5pm
Summary
 My Son is a friendly, placid 46-year-old chap with learning disability who needs one-to-one support when he goes out. It involves 'buddying' him and taking him (usually in your car, expenses paid) to a day centre in Worthing or to leisure activities in the community. He does most things himself but needs detailed prompting to keep him focused on what he's doing.
Other Requirements
• PA must have own car and be willing to drive my son locally
Other :  
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.
Description
Typical duties
Personal Care: 
He needs close supervision when eating and going to the toilet - detailed prompts on what to do next etc. If he has toileting accidents (which are unusual in the daytime) he needs help changing - again detailed prompts.
Person specification
The successful applicant will be: 
• Cheerful nature
• Good sense of humour
• Gentle, patient approach
• Creative
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.
Please note, if you are successful in your application for this role you will be employed through the individual employer and not Independent Lives.