Job Title: Personal Assistant/Carer
Location: Bognor Regis
Hourly rate: £11.50
Reference: NDS7320
Hours/shifts: 1 hour x 3 evenings per week, and 3 hours on Saturday morning.

Summary 

I am a 31-year-old full time student balancing my studies with a busy family life – I have good sense of humour and i am hoping to find someone who will support me through my good days and bad days. Someone who is honest, reliable and I can have a laugh with but who can still be professional. I have hyper mobility, Degenerative Disc disease and Sinus Tachycardia; conditions that affect many aspects of my life, but I try to stay as independent as possible (with physical aids and a bit of support from you) so I can continue to fulfil and enjoy everyday activities.

Other Requirements 
• Must be comfortable with pets as I have cats
• Non-smoker preferred or someone who is willing to refrain from smoking during work hours.
• Other:
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description
Typical duties

Domestic - 
Laundry: hanging out to dry on the washing line, ironing, supporting me to put the washing away

Laundry: Loading and unloading the washing machine / tumble dryer

Changing bed linen / making the bed

General cleaning

Taking out rubbish

General housework e.g. dusting, vacuuming, washing skirting boards when required

On my bad days I may need help opening jars and getting things out of the oven as I can’t feel hot and cold.

Personal Care: 
To be on call in my home when I shower.
Help with putting on/taking off shoes and socks if I am having a bad day.
Helping with other reasonable aspects of personal care if required.

Social: 
• Accompanying during doctors / hospital appointments
• Accompanying and assisting on shopping trips
• Accompany me when required to attend meetings
• Accompanying during social and leisure activities e.g swimming and support me to get in and out of the pool.
• You may need to push me in my wheelchair if required

Person specification
The successful applicant will be:
• Kind, caring and willing to take their lead from me as it is important to me to maintain as much independence as possible.
• Be flexible and adaptable
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
• Able to always work to high standards of Health & Safety
• Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
• Reliable with good timekeeping
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
• Practical, Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
•Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties

Experience or knowledge of learning difficulties and spectrum disorders would be useful (but not essential) as you will be working around members of my family.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives