Job Title: Personal Assistant
Location: Upper Norwood
Hourly rate: £10.50 p/h
Reference: CC114
Hours/shifts: 15 hrs+ per week

Summary

• I am a 25 year old lady looking for with support with personal and domestic care.
• Hours will vary, but will be between the hours of 7:30am - 11pm. Monday-Sunday.
• Early morning availability is essential.
• I am looking for a lovely lady to join my team of 5 amazing ladies in assisting me at home. Work will be based in the SE19 area.
• I am a very independent woman and lead a busy lifestyle so flexibility is a must for this role. You will be required to work as part of a team on a rota system to ensure all shifts are covered.
• Previous care work experience is not a must! If you are bubbly, reliable or are looking for a new challenge please get in touch, as full training will be provided.
• I am very social person that takes pride in my appearance. Often refer to myself as a modern day witch, as I am very in to my spirituality and crystals!
• Strictly animal lovers only as I have a large dog

Other Requirements
• "Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."
• Must be comfortable with pets
• Must be happy to work in a smoking environment
• Full driving license is preferred, but not essential.

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description
Typical duties

Domestic -
Laundry, hanging out to dry, ironing, putting away
Helping with laundry, washing and drying
Loading and unloading the washing machine
Loading and unloading tumble dryer/washing line
Changing bed linen
Bed making
General cleaning
Taking out rubbish
General housework, including cleaning, dusting and vacuuming.
Minor household maintenance eg changing light bulbs, taking down curtains for washing
Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.
Shopping
Assist with grooming dog (training provided) – employer would help
Tidying
Making tea for the employer's guests

Personal Care:
Washing and bathing/showering – towelling dry/ drying hair
Assistance with applying cream
• General hair/skin care
• Using the toilet
• Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings
• Getting into bed
• Assistance with getting out of bed using a hoist
• Help with dispensing tablets
• Assistance with medication i.e. helping to take tablets from foil/packets
• Helping with other aspects of personal care as required
• Getting in and out of the wheelchair ('transferring')
• Physiotherapy exercises

Social:
Accompanying and assisting employer on shopping trips when required
Accompanying employer to doctors/hospital appointments when required

 Person specification
The successful applicant will be:
• Female due to personal care needs
• Able to tolerate the employer smoking in the work place
• Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
• Reliable with good time-keeping
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
• Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
• Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
• Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
• Honest and cheerful
• Creative
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
• Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives