Job Title: Personal Assistant
Location: Petersfield         
Hourly rate: £10.00 weekdays, £12 weekends, £8.50 sleep in night     
Reference: CZHCC 314           
Hours/shifts: Various shifts to include 9am – 4pm Weds and Thurs, alternate Sat night 10pm to Midday Sun
Summary 
I am a 70 year old lady with Multiple Sclerosis looking for a team of reliable female PA’s
I live in my own home which is very important to me and would like help to maintain this
I enjoy shopping, wildlife and doing crosswords
I use a hoist and require support with all aspects of my personal care
This is a rewarding role with all professional training provided
Please apply if you would like to join my lovely team.
 
 
 Other Requirements
"Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."
Must have a UK driving licence
Must have access to own vehicle
Other :
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.
Description
I require support with everyday living tasks & managing my home. I require assistance with all my personal care and the use of a hoist (full training can be given) but some experience is required due to my condition.
 
I require driving to appointments and accessing the community i.e. grocery shopping on a regular basis. You will drive my car.
 
Typical duties
Domestic -       
Laundry, hanging out to dry, ironing, putting away
Changing bed linen
Bed making
Taking out rubbish
General light housework, including cleaning, dusting and vacuuming.
Minor household maintenance eg changing light bulbs, taking down curtains for washing on occasions
Preparing drinks, snacks in the week and meals at weekend.
Shopping
Maintenance of small garden, perhaps half an hour a week
Tidying
Correspondence e.g. reading letters, help writing replies, form-filling, assisting with household paperwork
Making phone calls on my behalf when I am too unwell to do this
Making tea for the employer's guests
Personal Care: 
Assistance with washing and bathing/showering – towelling dry/ drying hair
Assistance with applying cream
Assistance with general hair/skin care
Assistance with catheter care
Assistance to use the toilet
Assistance with dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings
Assistance with getting in and out of bed using a hoist
Assistance with medication i.e. helping to take tablets from foil/packets
Assistance with getting in and out of the wheelchair ('transferring')
Assistance at mealtimes e.g. cutting up food, assistance to eat
Assistance with physiotherapy exercises
Support with meals due to choking risk
Social:    
Accompanying and assisting employer on shopping trips when required
Accompany employer when accessing social and leisure activities, such as wildlife parks, theatre, charity shops, meeting friends
Accompanying employer to doctors/hospital appointments when required
Accompanying when clothes-buying, including help with un/dressing and lifting clothes on/off the rails.
Occasional longer journeys
The above duties will involve driving the employer in her car.   
Person specification
The successful applicant will be: (please add in/delete as applicable)    
Female due to personal care needs
Have access to their own car due to location
Non smoker preferred
Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
Reliable with good time-keeping
Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
Honest and cheerful
Creative
Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.