Job Title: Personal Assistant
Location:  Burgess Hill          
Hourly rate:  £10
Reference:   DP1241         
Hours/shifts: Saturdays and Sunday between 12pm-7pm. Weekdays between 4.30pm-7pm - exact times to be mutually agreed. Job share considered
Summary
I am a 26 year old lady requiring a Personal Assistant to support me within my home and out in the community. I need support with my personal care and someone to be a companion during the evenings. I enjoy being read to and watching films and would love someone to share my interests. I require a female due to personal care needs and would relate to someone with a good sense of humour who will make me giggle. I love to socialise and being out and about where I can get some fresh air.

Other Requirements
• "Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."   
• UK driving licence is an advantage but not essential 
Other :  
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.
Description
Typical duties
Domestic -       
Occasionally prepare me food but this is usually done by my parents
Personal Care
• Assistance with applying cream
• General hair/skin care including brushing my hair
• Changing pads
• Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings
• Getting into bed
• Assistance with using a hoist
• Getting in and out of the wheelchair ('transferring')
• Mealtimes e.g. cutting up food, assistance to eat
Social:   
• Accompanying and assisting employer on shopping trips when required
• Accompany employer when accessing social and leisure activities e.g. bowling
• Occasional longer journeys- if we were to go away you may be required to come with us.
• Accompanying to social events such as parties with friends
• Accompanying to social meetings eg friends, family
• Pushing the employer’s wheelchair when out.
• Whilst on duty at the employer’s home watching TV and assisting with craft activities and reading.
 Person specification
The successful applicant will be:
I thrive on interaction so would love someone to be chatty and socialise with me. 
• Female due to personal care needs 
• Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
• Reliable with good time-keeping
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
• Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
• Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
• Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
• Honest, cheerful with a great sense of humour
• Creative
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
• Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.
  
Please note, if you are successful in your application for this role you will be employed through the individual employer and not Independent Lives.