Job Title: Personal Assistant
Location: Tarring, Worthing
Hourly rate: From £10 per hour
Reference: DP1468
Hours/shifts: Variable Hours Available with Flexibility (To be discussed on application)

Summary 
• I am a 18 year old young lady looking for support within my home and within the community
• I need support with accessing Social and Leisure activities
• I may require support and accompaniment to medical or other appointments
• I am bubbly and enjoy all aspects of life. I enjoy shopping, going to the cinema, going out for dinner, F1 and meeting up with friends.
• Hourly rate from £10 per hour
• This is a rewarding role with all professional training provided and support in place.

Other Requirements 
• "Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."
• Must be comfortable with pets as I have 2 Chinchillas
• Access to a vehicle Is available if you have a UK driving licence, but not essential

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description
Typical duties

Personal Care: 
• Washing and bathing/showering – towelling dry/ drying hair
• Full assistance with showering, drying, hair washing/ brushing as required
• Help to hoist into and out of bath/shower.
• Assistance with applying cream
• Assistance with the toilet
• Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings
• Assistance with getting in and out of bed using a hoist
• Help with dispensing tablets
• Assistance with medication i.e. helping to take tablets from foil/packets
• Helping with other aspects of personal care as required
• Getting in and out of the wheelchair using hoist
• Mealtimes e.g. cutting up food, assistance to eat
• Physiotherapy exercises

Social: 
• Accompanying and assisting employer on shopping trips when required
• Accompany employer when accessing social and leisure activities, including to swimming and the gym.
• Accompanying employer to doctors/hospital appointments when required
• Accompanying when clothes-buying, including help with un/dressing and lifting clothes on/off the rails.
• Occasional longer journeys
• Driving and accompanying to social events such as:
• Cinema
• college
• Evening meetings
• Accompanying on trips out eg to the garden centre, cinema, craft fairs, local visits, out shopping for fun, attending social events, attending therapies, restaurants and to see family.
• Accompanying to social meetings eg friends, family
• The above duties will involve driving the employer in the PA’s car, clamping wheelchair into car, pushing the employer’s wheelchair when out/assisting with driving electric wheelchair.
• Whilst on duty at the employer’s home watching TV and assisting with craft activities
• Lifting the folding wheelchair in/out of car, pushing the employer’s manual wheelchair when out of not using electric wheelchair

Domestic - 
Only light housework required.

Person Specification:

• Female * due to personal care needs
• Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
• Reliable with good time-keeping
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
• Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
• Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
• Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
• Honest and cheerful
• Creative
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
• Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives