Job Title: Personal Assistant
Location: Findon Valley, Worthing        
Hourly rate:£10      
Reference:    DP1469          
Hours/shifts:12 hours:
                   2 mornings 6.30-7.30am
                   4 evenings 4.30-7pm
Some flexibility on days and times. I am happy to consider sharing the shifts between more than one PA so please feel free to apply if you can only do some of these hours.
Possibility of more hours at weekends and school holidays.
Summary:
I am the mother of a disabled but smiley and sociable 16 year old girl with high care needs who is a full time wheelchair user. I am looking for a kind, fun loving and reliable, non-smoking PA to assist me in her care in the mornings, evenings and some Saturdays. This is located in Findon Valley, Worthing and pays at £10 per hour. I am looking to cover 12 hours per week initially, with the possibility of more becoming available.
Other Requirements
"Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."  
Non-smoker 
Must have a UK driving licence  
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.
Description:
My daughter lives at home with Mum, Dad, Grandad and 2 sisters. She has spina bifida, development delay and epilepsy. She loves meeting new people and thinks everyone who comes to our home comes just to see her! She has a wicked sense of humour and thrives with people who are full of life and fun!
I require PAs who will be happy to work early in the mornings to help get her up and ready for the day. Also PAs to work in the early evenings to help feed her an evening meal, help with personal care and getting her into bed.
Typical duties
Domestic -  
At mealtimes -ensuring food is the correct temperature / assistance to eat / giving oral medication
Personal Care: 
Dressing and undressing. Brushing hair.
Washing and cleaning teeth.
Showering / drying / drying hair.
Hoisting in and out of wheelchair and bed.
Hoisting in and out of toilet chair. Performing Peristeen bowel washouts.
Catheterising through a Mytroffanoff.
Administering fluids through a Mini button gastrostomy using a syringe and feeding pump.
Cleaning of Mini button gastrostomy.
Administering medication including emergency medication for seizures.
Social:   
Playing with our daughter, reading books, watching TV, chatting and having fun!
On occasions, taking our daughter out to access outside fun. This would involve driving the employers wheelchair accessible vehicle and pushing the child’s wheelchair when out.
 Person specification
The successful applicant will be:     
• Female * due to personal care needs 
• Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
• Reliable with good time-keeping
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
• Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
• Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
• Patient and possess excellent interpersonal skills
• Honest and cheerful
• Full of enthusiasm with a good sense of humour
• Creative
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
• Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.