Job Title: Personal Assistant
Location: Nyetimber
Hourly rate: £11.50 (Monday to Friday) and £12.50 (W/E and bank holidays)
Reference: DP2387
Hours/shifts: Monday to Friday morning, Monday, Wednesday and Friday night-time and every other weekend morning and night-time.

Summary 

I am a bubbly 24yr old man looking for support with accessing social and leisure activities. I enjoy swimming, going to the cinema and football matches. I also need support with my personal care but all training will be provided. You may be required to attend medical appointments with me so it would be an advantage to be able to speak and read English well. This is a very rewarding role and I believe we could build a great working relationship.

Other Requirements 
• Must be comfortable with pets
• Non-smoker preferred or someone who is willing to refrain from smoking during work hours.
• Must have a UK driving licence
• Must have access to own vehicle
• Other :
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check if required.
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description
To assist with personal care; with washing and dressing, bathing, feeding and giving medication, getting up in the mornings and putting to bed in the evenings. Must be able to work well within a team. Workplace is in my family home.

Typical duties as above
Domestic - 
Laundry, hanging out to dry, ironing, putting away
Helping with laundry, washing and drying
Loading and unloading the washing machine
Loading and unloading tumble dryer/washing line
Changing bed linen
Bed making
Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.

Personal Care: 
• Washing and bathing/showering – towelling dry/ drying hair
• Supervision and/or assistance with showering, drying, hair washing/ brushing as required
• Help getting into and out of bath/shower as required
• To be on call when employer takes bath
• Assistance with applying cream
• General hair/skin care
• Using the toilet
• Dressing and undressing
• Getting into bed
• Assistance with getting out of bed using a hoist
• Help with dispensing tablets
• Assistance with medication i.e. helping to take tablets from foil/packets
• Helping with other aspects of personal care as required, for example assisting employer to get changed at swimming pool/gym.
• Getting in and out of the wheelchair ('transferring')
• Mealtimes e.g. cutting up food, assistance to eat
• Physiotherapy exercises

Social: 
• Accompanying and assisting employer on shopping trips when required
• Accompany employer when accessing social and leisure activities, including football matches.
• Accompanying employer to doctors/hospital appointments when required
• Accompanying when clothes-buying, including help with un/dressing and lifting clothes on/off the rails.
• Occasional longer journeys
• Accompanying on trips out e.g. to see family.
• Driving and accompanying to social events such as:
• Cinema
• Accompanying on trips out e.g. to help with feeding and drinking.
• Accompanying on trips out eg cinema, out shopping for fun, attending social events, and disability group
• Accompanying to social meetings eg friends, family
• The above duties will involve driving the employer car and pushing the employer’s manual wheelchair when out.

Person specification
The successful applicant will be:

• Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
• Reliable with good time-keeping
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
• Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
• Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
• Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
• Honest and cheerful
• Creative
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
• Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives