Job Title: Personal Assistant
Location:     Chichester       
Hourly rate:   weekday hours £11.60 weekend hours £17.40 (meals and refreshments taken on shift are provided/paid for by our son).
Reference:      DP4035       
Hours/shifts:  1 weekday evening, 2-3 Sundays a month
Summary
Our son is a partly-disabled but ambulant man (early 40s), head-injured in 1990.  Right-side weakness and neglect, epilepsy (but controlled by tablets and seizure-free since 2008); speech and language affected also mild memory/sequencing difficulties.  Semi-independent, no behavioural problems, no toileting, no lifting.  All duties are one-to-one.  Part of a small team.
• support in daily living, social, and leisure activities.
• assist with comprehension and memory
• assist with domestic and minor personal tasks which require two hands
• write brief reports of day’s events, of medical/dental appointments, manage household accounts
• assist our son over uneven ground and stairs without handrail
Other Requirements
• Must have a UK driving licence 
• Ideally have access to own vehicle, with appropriate insurance
 
All applicants must be willing to undertake Disclosure & Barring Service check, (but a record will not necessarily be a bar)
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.
Employees are supported by a Case Management company which also does the payroll/pension, but day-to-day and most employment-related matters are handled by our son’s court-appointed Deputy, which is us (his parents) and assisted by his wife -
Description
Typical duties might involve:
Domestic:
General housework, including cleaning, dusting and vacuuming, assistance with laundry.
Minor household maintenance or liaise with letting agents
Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.
Shopping (assistance)
Tidying
Correspondence e.g. reading letters, help writing replies, form-filling, assisting with household paperwork (note: all official matters are handled by client’s official Deputy)
Assist with making and receiving phone calls, when required
Personal Care:
• Supervision and/or assistance with showering, drying, hair washing as required
• Help getting into and out of bath/shower as required
• To be on call when our son takes bath
• Assistance with drying feet and applying foot-cream
• Some help with buttons and fastenings; checking right side tucked in, etc
• Helping with other aspects of personal care as required, for example assisting employer to get changed at swimming pool/gym.
• Mealtimes: cutting up some food
• Physiotherapy exercises, applying arm splint at bedtime
Social:
• Accompanying  when accessing social and leisure activities, including to swimming lessons, the gym
• Accompanying to doctors/dentist/hospital appointments when required. Writing notes about the visit.
• Accompanying on trips out e.g. National Trust or places of interest
• Driving and accompanying to social events such as to the cinema
• Accompanying on country walks
• suggest and assist with planning trips and leisure activities
• The above duties will usually involve driving the employer in the PA’s car
• Ideally, accompanying employer on holidays in UK and abroad
Person specification
The successful applicant will be:
• Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
• Reliable with good time-keeping
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
• Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
• Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
• Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
• Honest and cheerful
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard (our son has some speech/language/comprehension difficulties)
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
• Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Flexibility over shifts and start/finish times an asset.
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.