Job Title: Personal Assistant
Location: Henfield
Hourly rate: £9.50
Reference: DP4860
Hours/shifts: Minimum of every other Sunday 6-7 hours, Every other Thursday after school, ideally from 3.30 for 3-4 hours

Summary
I am looking for a proactive, fun-loving PA to support my 14 year old daughter. She enjoys magazines, watching films and using her Ipad. She has Downs Syndrome and is Autistic, is non-verbal and uses Makaton. The role will involve personal care, support with mealtimes and to go out and about on social activities. The ideal candidate will have a good sense of humour, ideally with a car and full driving licence, both for the role and to get to work as we live in Henfield. In return we offer a fun working environment and a rewarding role for the right person.

Other Requirements
• "Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9." Female required due to personal care needs
• Must be comfortable with pets
• Non-smoker preferred or someone who is willing to refrain from smoking during work hours.
• Must have a UK driving licence
• Must have access to own vehicle
• Other :
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check if required.
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description
Typical duties

Domestic -
Helping with laundry, washing and drying (very rare)
Changing employer's bed linen (very rare)
Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.
Shopping for employer
Tidying

Personal Care:
Employer needs total care.
Washing and bathing/showering – towelling dry/ drying hair
Changing pads (nappies).
Supervision and/or assistance with showering, drying, hair washing/ brushing as required
Using the toilet
Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings
Assistance with medication i.e. helping to take tablets from foil/packets
Helping with other aspects of personal care as required, for example assisting employer to get
changed at swimming pool/gym.
Getting in and out of the wheelchair ('transferring')
Mealtimes e.g. cutting up food, assistance to eat

Social:
● Accompanying and assisting employer on shopping trips when required
● Accompanying employer to doctors/hospital appointments when required
● Occasional longer journeys
● Accompanying on trips out to see family.
● Taking employer to Cinema/Bowling/swimming
● Accompanying on trips out eg to the garden centre, beach, cinema, craft fairs, local
visits, out shopping for fun
● The above duties will involve driving the employer in the PA’s car. Or with employer's
parents in employer's motability vehicle, pushing/operating the employer’s wheelchair
when out. .
● Whilst on duty at the employer’s home watching TV and assisting with craft activities
● Lifting the folding wheelchair in/out of car, pushing the employer’s manual wheelchair
when out.

Person specification
The successful applicant will be:
• Female * due to personal care needs
• Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
• Reliable with good time-keeping
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
• Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
• Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
• Patient and possess excellent interpersonal skills
• Honest and cheerful
• Creative
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
• Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives