Job Title: Personal Assistant
Location: Horsham
Hourly rate: £12 plus petrol for excursions
Reference: DP5848
Hours/shifts: 1 assistant to cover 25 hours a week (5 hours a day) Monday to Friday to include 1 hour 1pm-2pm sleep cover

Summary 
I am a 58-year-old man who had an Hypoxic brain injury 8 years ago.
I live in an extra care facility in my own apartment.
Before my injury, I was very active and independent, multilingual and sporty. I am very sociable and enjoy being with friends and family and being active.
My wife will be your employer.
The majority of the role is to help me access life … from helping me on to my Zoom French and German conversation classes, to mounting my static bike, going to the golf driving range, to going out for clothes shopping and accessing the gym … your support can help me lead as good a life as possible.
Access to your own car is necessary.
There will be elements of personal care for example, shaving sometimes, the odd shower where I’ve been on my bike, and getting dressed again if I’ve got in a muddle.

Other Requirements

• Non smoker required due to medical reasons
• Must have a UK driving licence
• Must have access to own vehicle
• Other:
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check if required.
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description
Typical duties

Domestic:
Laundry, hanging out to dry, ironing, putting away
Changing bed linen
Bed making
General cleaning of flat
Shopping
Tidying around me
Arranging of any flat repairs needed ie via handyman

Personal Care:
Occasionally shaving.
Assisting me to get to the toilet when out of my flat ie at the cafe
Assisting me to get in to bed for my daily hour sleep.
Helping to get changed in gym, or on my bike etc
Support having lunch ie collecting from restaurant, cutting up food and pouring water etc
Defibrillator check (simple download of data) on a twice-yearly basis.

Social:
Accompanying and assisting me on shopping trips when required ie opticians, Doctors, Dentist
Accompanying and assisting me when accessing social and leisure activities, the gym etc.
Accompanying and assisting me to hospital appointments when required (rarely)
Occasional longer journeys
The above duties will involve driving me in the PA’s car for which mileage will be paid.
Cancelling of care calls if I’m away.

Person specification
The successful applicant will be:
Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
Reliable with good timekeeping
Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
Honest and cheerful
Creative – this role can easily become repetitive so thinking out of the box and having ideas on other activities would be helpful.
Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives