Job Title: Personal Assistant
Location: Horsham
Hourly rate: £12 per hour
Reference: DP5912
Hours/shifts: 9-10 hours per week possibly over 2/3 shifts (times and days to be agreed)
Summary 
I am a 53 year old female sex/bodied agender person (they/them/their pronouns, neither male nor female gender) with Multiple Sclerosis, Asperger’s (including executive dysfunction, pathological demand avoidance, aphantasia, prosopagnosia and resistance to change), Delayed Sleep Phase Disorder (I am only awake afternoons and nights unless I force myself awake for an appointment), Type II Diabetes, chemical sensitivities, food intolerances, Clinical Depression, Complex PTSD (cPTSD) and chronic migraine. I am also occasionally deaf and will need you to allow me to lipread.
I enjoy knitting, crochet and occasional spinning. I am competent with IT & enjoy using the computer, iPad, internet and playing online games.
I also enjoy photography.

Other Requirements 

• Must be comfortable with pets
• Must have a UK driving licence
• Must have access to own vehicle
• Other :
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description
Typical duties

Domestic
The majority of the work will be to help me to organise myself, remind me about everyday routine tasks that you cannot do for me and to help with my correspondence. I often cannot use the telephone due to phone trauma anxiety and so will need you to me able to make phone calls on my behalf on my phone.
I require someone who can shop for me on occasions, claiming anything you need to spend like this on expenses. Let me know if anything is running out so I can add it to my next Tesco delivery order.

General housework, including cleaning, dusting and vacuuming. Cleaning loo and bathroom. See attached checklist and notes.
Assistance with laundry, hanging out to dry, putting away and being proactive enough to know when these need doing by checking the linen basket in bedroom one.
Changing and laundering bed linen.
Check with me if items can be tumbled before tumble drying anything.
Reminding me and helping me with minor household maintenance eg changing light bulbs, taking down curtains for washing.
Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.
Shopping.
Tidying & reminding me to tidy.
Correspondence e.g. reminding me to open post, filing, reading letters, help writing replies, form-filling, assisting with household paperwork.
Making phone calls on my behalf .
Making tea for my guests.
Scooping the cat litter tray every visit. Changing the litter tray completely once per week. Once per month (or every four weeks?) disinfect the empty litter tray and refill it.
Make sure the cat water bowl is full.
Reminding me and helping with changing bed linen every four weeks.
Any wiping down that needs doing e.g. kitchen and bathroom mirror.
Take recycling down to the refuse store as needed.

N.B. When I say reminding, PLEASE do not nag or joke about. my cPTSD is easily triggered.

Personal Care
Assistance with applying creams/lotions as needed.
Reminding to:
shower.
clean teeth.
Helping with other aspects of personal care as required, for example assisting employer to get changed in swimming pool/gym.
Physiotherapy exercises occasionally.


Social:
I would like to be able to attend a knitting group at Horsham Library on Thursday afternoons (14:00 - 16:00).
Accompanying, driving and assisting/supporting me on shopping trips and to appointments.
Accompanying me when accessing social and leisure activities, such as the gym or the library.
Accompanying me & driving me to doctors/hospital appointments.
Occasional longer journeys.
Accompanying me & driving me on trips out e.g. to the Knit & Natter club at the library on Thursday afternoons at Horsham Library.
The above duties will involve driving me in your car for which mileage will be reimbursed and lifting my rollator / ‘walker’ in & out of your car

Other Tasks:
Take items to the post office to post them.
Keep things where I know where they are - i.e. where I have placed them. e.g. put things back where you find them when cleaning.
Help me to organise filing and drawers.
Water plants on kitchen windowsill

Person specification
The successful applicant will be: 
Female with respect to personal care needs.
Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality.
Reliable with good time-keeping.
Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative / be proactive within reason.
Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised.
Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties.
Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills.
Honest and cheerful.
Creative and caring.
Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard.
Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom.
Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety.
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.


Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives