Job Title: Personal Assistant
Location:      Petworth      
Hourly rate:         £10 per hour
Reference:      DP5997       
Hours/shifts: 10 hours per week. Days flexible and times to be discussed
Summary 
I am a mother of an autistic child and I need assistance to care for my son and to offer me some respite or some assistance with household tasks to free up my time so I can have quality time with my family.
My son is 14 years old and attends Fordwater School. He communicates using a little verbal language and also a little sign language.
He is generally a happy child but can display challenging behaviour at times. He requires his routine of things to be followed to reduce the risk of the challenging behaviour. He likes cooking, arts and crafts, trampolining, cycling, visiting the play park and swimming. He also likes the gym.
I am looking for a patient, reliable and organised person to offer fun, care and support to my 14 year old son who is autistic. You will also need to be happy to help generally around the home so that it allows me, his mother, to spend some quality time with my son.
The hours can be flexible each week to suit the family and the PA.
The work will involve caring and entertaining my son by following his routines, where it’s cooking a meal, bathing, putting to bed or doing activities with him such as arts and crafts. You may be required to cook od do some household tasks so I can spend quality time with him or take him to his appointments at the hospital etc. He would need two people to take him out to do certain activities.
Other Requirements 
• Must be happy to work in a smoking environment (I smoke outside the property) 
• UK driving licence and access to own vehicle is desirable but not essential.
• Other :  
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.
Description
Typical duties
Domestic -        
Domestic tasks may be required in connection with the care of my son, for example; hovering/mopping spillages ect
Helping with laundry, washing and drying
Loading and unloading the washing machine
Loading and unloading tumble dryer
General cleaning
Preparing/cooking drinks, snacks and meals.
Tidying (tiding toys clearing kitchen after cooking ect)
Personal Care:  
Washing and bathing/showering – towelling dry/ drying hair
Supervision and assistance with showering, drying, hair washing/ brushing as required
Help getting into and out of bath/shower as required
Assistance with applying cream
General hair/skin care
Assistance with toileting
Needs prompting to put the right clothes on.
Assistance with medication i.e. applying cream for eczema
Helping with other aspects of personal care as required, for example assisting the child to get changed in swimming pool. 
Assistance with cutting finger nails and toe nails (supporting mother, as two people are required)
Social:       
Accompanying and assisting employer and/or child on shopping trips when required
Accompany employer and/or child when accessing social and leisure activities, including to swimming lessons, ect.
Accompanying when clothes-buying, including help with un/dressing and lifting clothes on/off the rails.
Accompanying on trips out e.g. to the park, flying fortress, bowling and swimming.
• The above duties may involve driving the child in the PA’s car.
Person specification
The successful applicant will be:    
Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
Reliable with good time-keeping
Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
Honest and cheerful
Creative
Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense
Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives