Job Title: Personal assistant
Location:    East Grinstead, West Sussex        
Hourly rate:   £11 p/h     
Reference:        DP6502   
Hours/shifts: Either Saturdays or Sundays 5 hours a week
Summary
I require a PA for my 7 year old non- verbal son with autism. He also has a learning disability, Global Developmental Delay and ADHD. He is a very friendly, affectionate and happy little man who despite being totally non-verbal (no speech at all) can communicate by signing (a bit of Makaton), pointing at pictures or objects or leading to an object he wants.
He is very active and loves being out, he loves exploring and 1:1 activities. He likes trains, buses, big trucks, lifts, pedestrians’ crossings, automatic doors and so on. He likes riding his scooter, helping with cooking, playing with playdough but mainly being out a lot. We are looking for a reliable, trustworthy, caring, supportive, patient, creative and physically fit person to take him out for long walks, car rides and help him enjoy and do things he likes. He is fully toilet trained during the day and just occasionally might need help with personal care.
He can be stubborn, strong willed and forceful and might sometimes try to run off and express challenging behaviours (biting, kicking). He has no stranger danger awareness and trusts anyone, he loves people and often will try to hug and kiss random people on the streets. The ability to appropriately react in these situations is essential as well as constant supervision ensuring his safety at all times. Experience of working with children with special needs would be an advantage. Must have a UK driving licence and access to own vehicle .
Other Requirements
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.
Description
Typical duties
Domestic:
Making tea for the employer's guests
Personal Care: 
Might need help with cutting up food and sometimes assistance to eat.
Social:
My son likes to be out and about so I need someone to help him access the community. He enjoys exploring but will constant supervision.
He enjoys, bus and car ride, long walks and generally being outside.
I would love a PA that would have some ideas on where to take him as he is very adventurous.
Person specification
The successful applicant will be
Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
• Reliable with good time-keeping
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
• Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
• Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
• Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
• Honest and cheerful
• Creative
• Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these role.
Please note, if you are successful in your application for this role you will be employed through the individual employer and not Independent Lives.