Job Title: Personal Assistant
Location: East Grinstead
Hourly rate: £10.00
Reference: DP7195

Hours/shifts: 18 hours a week. 2:00pm – 5:30pm, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday & Friday and four hours on a Thursday for additional support with food shopping.

Summary 

I am a 39 year old woman looking for someone to support me during the day as well as provide some company.

I have nerve damage in my right leg due to an incident with an operation. This means I have no feeling in the top of my leg and need support to do the things I used to be able to do before the operation.

The hours of work will be 18 hours a week. 2:00pm – 5:30pm, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday & Friday and four hours on a Thursday for additional support with food shopping. The role is to cover for my PA while she is on maternity leave.

Ideally, I’m looking for some social support as I spend a lot of my time alone and it would be nice to have someone friendly support me during the day when I need it.

Lastly, I have a thirteen year old daughter, so you’ll need to be able to spend time around a teenager!

Other Requirements 
• Must be comfortable with pets as I have a dog (as well as fish and geckos)
• Must be happy to work in a vaping environment (I’m happy to vape outside)
• Must have a UK driving licence
• Must have access to own vehicle
• Other :
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check if required.
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description
Typical duties

Domestic - 
Laundry, hanging out to dry, ironing, putting away
Unloading the washing machine
Unloading tumble dryer/washing line
Changing bed linen
General cleaning
Taking out rubbish
General housework, including cleaning, dusting and vacuuming.
Minor household maintenance eg changing light bulbs, taking down curtains for washing
Preparing snacks and home cooked meals
Shopping
Tidying
Correspondence e.g. reading letters, help writing replies, form-filling, assisting with household paperwork
Making phone calls on my behalf e.g. ordering medication prescription

Social:
• Accompanying and assisting employer on shopping trips
• Accompany employer when accessing social and leisure activities, including to swimming lessons.
• Accompanying employer to doctors/hospital appointments when required
• The above duties will involve driving the employer in the PA’s car and may involve lifting the folding wheelchair in/out of car, pushing the employer’s wheelchair when out. Alternatively, I would use crutches – most of the time I use crutches.

Person specification
The successful applicant will be:
• Able to tolerate the employer vaping in the workplace
• Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
• Reliable with good time-keeping
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
• Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
• Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
• Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
• Honest and cheerful
• Creative
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
• Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives