Job Title: Personal Assistant
Location:    Yapton near Arundel        
Hourly rate:   £10.70     
Reference:  GN 6104           
Hours/shifts: Looking for 2 x PAs to cover the following shifts - 10.30am-12 noon, 7.30pm to 11pm  Mon-Sun and 2 overnight shifts
 
Summary
My daughter is a young lady in her 30’s and is reliant on someone to assist with all aspects of her daily life, including personal care.  Her communication is very limited, but those who get to know her well, will usually know how she is feeling at any given time.  She likes music, movement, watching tv and going out in her wheelchair for walks and shopping etc.
You will be required to interact with my daughter when she is well enough and to assist with physio and encourage movement and stretching.
Other Requirements
• "Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."  
• UK driving licence desirable (to drive wheelchair converted vehicle). 
• The employer’s home is a no smoking environment.
• You will be expected to maintain confidentiality both of the employer and of the other family members living within the home.  Any information gained in this role must not be communicated to other persons, except where required in the recognised course of duty.
• All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check.
• Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.
Nature of Work
You will be trained alongside a very experienced PA within our home.  Once training is completed and you are competent in managing my daughter’s care, you will be required to work on your own initiative.
Full training will be available, including epilepsy, buccolam administration, manual handling, health and safety and the use of the ceiling hoist.  It is very important that my daughter is cared for with respect and dignity.
Some flexibility is required to provide occasional holiday/sickness cover.
Description
Typical duties
Domestic -       
Helping with laundry, hanging out to dry, ironing, putting away
Loading and unloading the washing machine
Loading and unloading tumble dryer/washing line
Changing bed linen
Bed making
General cleaning
Taking out rubbish
Preparing drinks, snacks and meals, including preparing/cooking meals when required
Tidying
My daughter has a soft room to keep her safe when she is active, so you will be required to keep this room and her personal bathroom clean and tidy
Personal Care: 
Washing and bathing/showering – towelling dry/ drying hair
• Supervision and/or assistance with showering, drying, hair washing/ brushing as required
• Help getting into and out of bath/shower as required, including use of a ceiling hoist
• Full continence support
• Assistance with applying cream
• General hair/skin care
• Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings
• Getting into bed
• Assistance with getting out of bed using a hoist
• Help with dispensing tablets and completing record chart
• Getting in and out of the wheelchair ('transferring')
• Mealtimes e.g. cutting up food, assistance to eat, ensuring all food and drink is the correct consistency as she cannot chew food and has thickened drinks and is danger of aspiration
• Physiotherapy exercises
• You will be expected to undertake other duties as may be reasonably requested
Social:   
• Accompanying and assisting my daughter on shopping trips when required
• Accompanying to doctors/hospital appointments when required
• Occasional longer journeys
• Accompanying on trips for social outings (walks around the village or outings in the car to garden centre, shops and occasionally to dentist and hospital appointments)
• Accompanying to social events, eg friends and family
• The above duties will involve driving the employer’s vehicle which is adapted for her to travel in a wheelchair and has a tail lift
• Pushing manual wheelchair whilst out
• Observing  my daughter whilst on duty at our employer’s home whilst she watches TV/rests
 Person specification
The successful applicant will be:
• Female due to personal care needs 
• Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
• Patient and caring with an understanding of the needs of a severely disabled person (or willing to learn)
• Reliable with good time-keeping
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
• Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
• Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
• Patient and possess excellent interpersonal skills
• Honest and cheerful
• Creative
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
• Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety