Location: Crawley / Hourly rate: £7.50 / Reference: JL6381

Summary

Wanted! A PA to look after me and keep me occupied. I am a 7 year old boy with multiple disabilities - I like being outdoors doing a variety of activities & going to the park & love music. I would also like to meet new people the same age as me. 

Hours/Shifts

Up to 10 hours per week, 2 hours a day Monday – Friday (Please apply if you can only do some of the hours) 

Other Requirements

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check

Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts. 

Description

Nature of the work:

The work will be mainly out and about in the community, taking me to clubs or to the park. There will be a small amount of personal care, but the aim is to make me more independent & encourage me to develop skills

Because of my disabilities, I need to be supervised at all times as I do not have any awareness of dangers. I would like to build positive friendships with people outside of my immediate family. When I am outside the home, I will need to be pushed in my adapted wheelchair 

Typical duties

Domestic -       

  • General clearing up after me & encouraging me to help

Personal Care:

  • General hair/skin care after meals etc
  • Assistance to use the toilet 
  • Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings on occasions
  • Assistance with medication i.e. helping to take tablets from foil/packets
  • Helping with other aspects of personal care as required, for example assisting me to get changed in swimming pool/gym.
  • Getting in and out of the wheelchair ('transferring') 
  • Mealtimes e.g. cutting up food, assistance to eat
  • Physiotherapy exercises

Social:         

  • Accompanying me & supervising me when accessing social and leisure activities, including going to the swimming pool or park, garden centre or clubs.
  • Occasional longer journeys with my family
  • The above duties may involve driving me in the PA’s car, lifting the folding push chair in/out of car, pushing me when out.  Alternatively, I can walk with support. 
  • Whilst on duty in my home, watching TV and keeping me occupied with toys

Person specification

The successful applicant will be: 

  • Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
  • Reliable with good time-keeping
  • Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
  • Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
  • Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
  • Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
  • Honest and cheerful
  • Creative
  • Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
  • Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
  • Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
  • Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.