Job Title: Personal Assistant
Location: Crawley
Hourly rate: £9
Reference: JL3570
Hours/shifts:
Monday – Saturday 9.30am – 11.30am
Sunday 9.30am – 11am
Monday – Sunday 5pm – 7pm
Tuesday – 2 hours in the afternoon
Friday – 3 hours in the afternoon

Summary

I am a 61 year old female. I live with my husband and very small dog near Crawley town centre.
I suffered a stroke at the beginning of 2016 which left me with disabilities and immobile.
I have a very supportive family; however I require the support of Personal Assistants to manage every day tasks at home. I enjoy craft activities and accessing the community.
Depending on what shifts you work, I require assistance with getting washed & dressed along with some personal care needs.
The role will include assisting me to prepare food and helping me with craft activities.
The role will also involve accompanying me out and about in the community, possibly to the shops once a week and doing light housework such as dusting and changing the bed linen.


Other :
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.
Description
Typical duties
Domestic:
Laundry, hanging out to dry, ironing, putting away
Changing bed linen
Bed making
General light cleaning eg dusting, hoovering, washing up
Taking out rubbish
Preparing drinks, snacks and meals and assisting me to cook meals
Shopping
Tidying
Correspondence e.g. reading letters, help writing replies, form-filling, assisting with household paperwork
Making phone calls on my behalf when I am too unwell to do this
Making tea for my guests

Personal Care:
Assistance with washing and bathing/showering – towelling dry/ drying hair
Assistance with applying cream
Assistance with using the toilet
Assistance with dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings
Assistance with getting ready for bed
Assistance with dispensing tablets
Assistance with getting in and out of the wheelchair ('transferring')
Assistance at mealtimes e.g. cutting up food
Assistance with physiotherapy exercises
Social:
Accompanying and assisting me on shopping trips when required
Accompanying and assisting me to doctors/hospital appointments when required
Accompanying and assisting when clothes-buying, including help with un/dressing and lifting clothes on/off the rails.
Occasional longer journeys
Accompanying and assisting me on trips out e.g. to the library, to support groups
Accompanying to social events such as cinema, meeting family
The above duties will involve driving me in my mobility car,
Whilst on duty in my home watching TV and assisting with craft activities





• Person specification
The successful applicant will be:
• Female * due to personal care needs
• Comfortable to work around dogs
• Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
• Reliable with good time-keeping
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
• Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
• Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
• Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
• Honest and cheerful
• Creative
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
• Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.


For external websites only

To Apply:
If you are interested in this role of Care Support Worker/ Care Assistant, please click on the apply button below where you will be redirected to our website to complete a full application form. Please call us on 01903 219482 should you require further information regarding this post. Or email [email protected]

For more information about our company please visit us on: http://www.independentlives.org/


Independent Lives is an organisation that supports and empowers people with disabilities to choose how they receive their care that will enable them to live their lives independently. Each advert we place is on behalf of an Individual Employer. All positions are based in the home environment and employment is on a smaller scale than larger businesses. This environment offers a more personalised working relationship and employees are more valued.