Job Title: Personal Assistant
Location: Crawley
Hourly rate: £10
Reference: JL7303
Hours/shifts: 3 hours a week plus an extra 8 hours a week in school holidays, possibly all in one day or split into 2 days
Summary
• I require PA or PAs to accompany my 17-year-old daughter to activities in the school holidays & once a week after school. She will require supervision at all times.
• There will be occasional personal care duties around toileting but most of the work will be keep my daughter occupied during the holidays doing activities she loves such as swimming & going to the park & National Trust venues.
• My daughter uses a wheelchair therefore some transferring will also be required along with pushing the wheelchair when you are out.
Other Requirements (please edit as appropriate)
• "Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."
• Non-smoker preferred or someone who is willing to refrain from smoking during work hours.
• (or) Non smoker required due to medical reasons
• Must have a UK driving licence
• Must have access to own vehicle• Other :
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.


Description
Typical duties
Domestic:
Occasional preparation of drinks, snacks and meals.
Occasional shopping with my daughter for ingredients for baking, making dinner or choosing presents.


Personal Care:
Occasional help with washing and bathing/showering – towelling dry/ drying hair after swimming or when at home
Assisting with general hair/skin care after meal times
Encouraging and helping to use the toilet & cleaning afterwards
Helping and encouraging with dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings
Helping with other aspects of personal care as required, for example assisting my daughter to get changed in swimming pool/gym.
Occasional help at mealtimes e.g. cutting up food & assistance to eat
Getting in and out of the wheelchair ('transferring')

Social:
Accompanying and assisting my daughter on shopping trips when required
Accompanying my daughter when accessing social and leisure activities, including to swimming lessons, going to the park, cinema or National Trust venues.
Occasional longer journeys to theme parks
Accompanying to social meetings eg family days outs, weddings etc
The above duties could involve driving my daughter in my adapted car, but alternatively you could use your own car (for which mileage will be paid) or use public transport.
Whilst working in our home, you may be required to watch TV, assist with craft activities, help with bath time or simply playing.
The above duties will involve lifting the folding wheelchair in/out of car & pushing my daughter’s wheelchair when out.


Person specification
The successful applicant will be:
• Female due to personal care needs
• Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
• Reliable with good time-keeping
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
• Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
• Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
• Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
• Honest and cheerful
• Creative
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
• Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.