Job Title: Personal Assistant
Location: Southwater, Horsham
Hourly rate: £10
Reference: JL7396
Hours/shifts: Reliable care is required at the weekends for 3 hours each day: 8-9 am, 12-1 pm and 5 -6 pm. Happy to consider job share/ split shifts.

Summary
I am a 90 year old gentleman who suffers from Fibromyalgia and is severely visually impaired. I have just had a hip replacement after falling.
“My dad is still very ‘on the ball’, just his body not behaving! He is completely blind in one eye, and has limited blurred pinhole vision in the other. He is also hard of hearing but better when he puts his hearing aids in! The hip replacement was successful and his mobility improved, however he does have Fibromyalgia which causes excruciating pain in his shoulders, knees and the hip that hasn’t been replaced. He currently is on controlled drugs for the pain which is provided in blister packs and taken orally when needed. He is a very chatty man and loves social interaction especially having lost his wife in 2016”.

Mornings to provide (if needed) personal care which would involve helping me shower and get dressed. Providing breakfast, putting any washing on and general clean up of the bungalow. Administer drugs as prescribed in blister packs
Lunchtime to provide lunch and assist me where needed.
Evenings to provide dinner, administer drugs, assist me where needed

Other Requirements
Non-smoker preferred or someone who is willing to refrain from smoking during work hours.
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description
Typical duties

Domestic
Helping with laundry, washing and drying
Loading and unloading the washing machine
Loading and unloading tumble dryer/washing line
Bed making
General cleaning
Taking out rubbish
General housework, including cleaning, dusting and vacuuming if needed.
Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.
Tidying
Making phone calls on my behalf when I am too unwell to do this

Personal Care
Supervision and/or assistance with showering, drying, hair washing/ brushing as required
Help getting into and out of bath/shower as required
To be on call when I take a shower
Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings if needed
Assistance with medication i.e. helping to take tablets from foil/packets
Getting in and out of the wheelchair ('transferring') if required
Mealtimes e.g. cutting up food if needed

Social
Sitting and chatting to me if time allows

Person specification
The successful applicant will be:
• Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
• Reliable with good time-keeping
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
• Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
• Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
• Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
• Honest and cheerful
• Creative
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
• Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives