Location: Broadbridge Heath Hourly rate: £9.50 per hour Reference: KH3741

Summary

I am a young man seeking to employ a team of PAs who can support me socially and with personal care, so that I can have a full life and remain as independent as possible. I enjoy playing the Xbox, boccia, going to the cinema.

Hours/Shifts: Weekdays with flexibility on evenings and weekends.

Other Requirements:

  • Must be comfortable with pets- Employer has a bearded dragon lizard which stays in its vivarium.
  • Must be happy to work in a non smoking environment
  • Must have a UK driving licence
  • Other : Location is 5 minutes from bus stop and plenty of parking is available

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check. Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.


Job Description

I am a young man seeking to employ a team of PAs who can support me socially and with personal care, so that I can have a full life and remain as independent as possible. I enjoy playing the Xbox, boccia, going to the cinema.I am reliant on carers for all tasks but I am able to operate my electric wheelchair. You will need to be a confident and experienced driver prepared to drive a wheelchair adapted vehicle so that I can go out occasionally.

About the employer:
I have Duchennes Muscular Dystrophy which means I am unable to walk or do anything physical.It affects my muscles which are gradually getting weaker.I am friendly and sociable with a great sense of humour. I like people to talk to me and ask me how I would like to do things. My Family and friends are very important to me and I like to get together with my friends to socialise. My hobbies and interests include; playing X box, going to the cinema, live music and playing Boccia and anything to do with cars. I also like reptiles and have a bearded dragon as a pet.Although I have physical disabilities I do not necessarily require a PA who has experience with this as full training will be provided. I am more interested in finding someone who is like minded who will enjoy the things I do and who I get on with.

I am looking for a pool of PAs to work weekdays with the flexibility of evenings and weekends.The role will be mostly supporting me within my home and to occasionally support me to access social activities either on my own or with my friends and family. There will be help needed to manage my urine bottle and I may need hoisting in and out of bed/bath/wheelchair and assistance with bathing/washing and dressing. I will also need assistance with eating, drinking and preparing snacks. 

Domestic:

  • General light housework
  • Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.

Personal Care:

  • Support with using urine bottle
  • Assistance with transfers using a hoist (in/out of wheelchair or bed)
  • Helping with other aspects of personal care as required, for example supporting me in the bath and getting me dressed.
  • Mealtimes e.g. cutting up food, assistance to eat and drink

Social:

  • Accompanying and assisting me on shopping trips when required
  • Accompany me when accessing social and leisure activities.
  • Driving and accompanying me to social activities such as:
  • Cinema
  • Pub or coffee shops
  • Trips into town
  • Meeting up with friends
  • The above duties will involve driving the me in our specially adapted car
  • Whilst on duty at my home watching TV such as F1 racing, Big Bang Theory and Top Gear, playing X Box, watching films and also assisting with other indoor activities.

Person specification

The successful applicant will be:

  • Male or female
  • Respectful of the my privacy and confidentiality
  • Reliable with good time-keeping
  • Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
  • Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
  • Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
  • Patience, sociable, honest and cheerful
  • Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
  • Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
  • Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
  • Previous experience is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to this role is preferred.
  • Non smoker
  • UK driving licence
  • Additional Information: Location is only 5 minutes from the bus stop and there is plenty of car parking space.