Job Title: Personal Assistant (PA)
Location: Horsham
Hourly rate: £9.50 Per Hour
Reference: DP2245
Hours/shifts: Tuesday 1.30 PM To 6.30 PM, Wednesday 1.30 PM To 6.30 PM And Friday 1.30 PM To 6.30 PM

Summary 
• I am a 51 year old lady looking for support and to provide the five hours break cover for my live in carer.
• The tasks that are required are many and are varied and dependent on what the employer requires and needs to be done.
• I may occasionally require support and accompaniment to medical or other appointments
• I require a driver who can drive my adapted vehicle and clamp me in etc (full training will be given)

Other Requirements
• "Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."
• Must be comfortable with pets
• Must be happy to work in a smoking environment
• Non-smoker preferred or someone who is willing to refrain from smoking during work hours.
• Must have a UK driving licence
• Must have access to own vehicle
• Other :
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description
Typical duties

Domestic -
Laundry, hanging out to dry, putting away (occasionally to help out the live in carer)
Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.
Shopping
Tidying
Laminating
Yellow labelling and organising
Correspondence e.g. reading letters, help writing replies, form-filling, assisting with household paperwork
Filing and sorting out and reorganising files
Making phone calls on my behalf when I am too unwell to do this

Personal Care:
• Catheter care
• Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings
• Getting into bed and Assistance with getting out of bed using a ceiling hoist and assisting my live in carer to do this this will only be very occasional eg when I have to be on bed-rest and I am only allowed to sit in my wheelchair for a limited period of time when I have a problem with pressure sores etc
• Help with giving me my lunchtime medication after I have eaten.
• Mealtimes e.g. cooking and preparing lunch, cutting up food, assistance to eat and washing up and clearing away after lunch.
• Making of drinks and assisting me with drinks etc

Social:
• Accompanying and assisting employer on shopping trips when required
• Accompanying employer to doctors/hospital appointments when required
• Occasional longer journeys eg when I need two carers to visit a London hospital and to theatre trips etc to London
• Driving and accompanying to social events such as:
• Cinema
• Accompanying on trips out eg to the garden centre, cinema, craft fairs, shopping, attending therapies
• Accompanying to social meetings eg friends, family
• The above duties will involve driving the employer in the
• Whilst on duty at the employer’s home watching TV and assisting with craft activities

Person specification
The successful applicant will be:
• Female due to personal care needs
• Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
• Reliable with good time-keeping
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
• Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
• Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
• Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
• Honest and cheerful
• Creative
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
• Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives