Job Title: Personal Assistant 
Location: Purley near Foxley wood    
Hourly rate: £10ph         
Reference:  SC221            
Hours/shifts: 10hrs per week
Summary 
I am middle aged, autistic man looking for someone to escort me to and from the day service I attend in Croydon during term time
In the near future, I will need assistance and supervision onsite during cooking classes (CALAT) once a week, which will be based in Croydon or New Addington.
When I am at home I enjoy watching westerns, black and white films, comedies and re-runs of Top of the Pops. Baking and healthy cooking is a passion of mine which comes with a sweet tooth that has to be managed. 
I have a very relaxed, charming and sometimes funny demeanour. I am a good mimic, inquisitive and a keen observer of people but I do have a tendency to stare when I find something or someone fascinating. I do make my likes and dislikes very clear, and I love routine however I am open to try new things. 
Outside my home, I enjoy gentle walks but sometimes I have to be encouraged to do so. Cafes and parks are places I like to visit most. I also like to look at my reflection in shop windows, bus windows, anything reflective really, as I have pride in my appearance.
I don’t like extra loud noises as they disturb me, even people shouting and/or arguing. If I am distressed, I need to be removed from an area and gently talked to. This helps me calm down. As my vocabulary is limited I am confident in using PECS (Picture Exchange Communication System) and a little Makaton. Sometimes I may repeat statements and or instructions I hear (echolalia).
Other requirements:
Non-smoker preferred or willing to refrain from smoking during working hours. 
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check if required.
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.
Description
Typical duties
Personal Care:  
Help locating Toilets when out in the community
Ensure hands have been washed after using the bathroom.
Social:        
Accompanying and assisting me on shopping trips when required and handling cash
Accompanying on trips out e.g. to the library 
Accompanying on trips out eg to the garden centre, beach, and parks 
Accompanying to social meetings eg friends, friends and classes
Person specification
The best applicant will have good communication (especially if you are running late or unavailable one day). 
Reliable, trustworthy and the ability to work on their own initiative and to be adaptable, depending on my health each day.
Lots of reassurance is needed so the best person for this role would be patient and calm.
You will need the ability to learn and have full understanding of my needs and autism 
You will need a mature outlook.
As much as I enjoy being outside in the community I can be very vulnerable. Sometimes I make prolonged eye contact with members of the public and can lack the understanding of someone’s personal space. Due to this I may touch a strangers nose, so being vigilant is necessary.
Car driver preferred but not essential.
Basic first aid desirable but not essential. 
Respectful of privacy and confidentiality.
Fit and healthy to undertake the required role.
Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised.
Reasonable standard of reading and spoken English.
Legally permitted to work in the UK.
Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety 
As a key worker role this could compliment an income support claim as it is below the earning limit. Employment includes paid holiday and training if required.
Please note, if you are successful in your application you will be employed directly through the individual and not Independent Lives.