Job Title: Personal Assistant/ Support Workers
Location: Cowfold nr Horsham
Hourly rate: Between £10.75 and £11.25 per hour
Reference: DP5054

Wednesday 08:30-16:30, Thursday 13:00-18:00 and Saturday 22:30-08:30 (waking night) 


My sister is aged 32 with a highly active life. She has severe epilepsy but this does not stop her from doing all the things she love’s in life. My sisters' passions are horse riding, cooking, gym, drawing, painting, food, music, dancing, films, being with her cats. She has now moved into her own flat with 24/7 assistance, currently with the support of 8 PA’s.

You will be supporting my sister with meals, supporting with personal care. Mainly supporting her to be as independent as possible while keeping her safe through observing her seizures.

You will be supporting to administer medication.

You will also have light house work to complete.

Training is provided if needed

Other Requirements 
"Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Typical duties

Domestic - 
Laundry, hanging out to dry, ironing, putting away
Helping with laundry, washing and drying
Loading and unloading the washing machine
Loading and unloading tumble dryer/washing line
Changing bed linen
Bed making
General cleaning
Taking out rubbish
General housework, including cleaning, dusting and vacuuming.
Minor household maintenance eg changing light bulbs, taking down curtains for washing
Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.
Maintenance of small garden, perhaps half an hour a week
Assist with grooming cats (training provided) – employer would help
Correspondence e.g. reading letters, help writing replies, form-filling, assisting with household paperwork
Making phone calls on my behalf when I am too unwell to do this
Making tea for the employer's guests

Personal Care: 
My sister does not need help when using the toilet but will need staff to make sure she is sitting down first before leaving her, then to stand outside the door and to listen out for her as she can sometimes have a seizure on the toilet.
When in the shower she is always sat in her shower chair. She will need her personal assistant to wash her hair, but the rest she can do by herself. She may just need a little prompting. She will need help putting on her bra as she finds this difficult especially in the mornings when she has increased seizures.
She needs to be encouraged to brush her teeth at the back as she tends to just do the front.
Safety is paramount as she can have drop seizures, you will always need to be nearby in case she is about to fall.

The emergency medication is rectal diazepam, so staff will need to be trained and feel comfortable and confident administering this. Rectal diazepam is the only emergency medication that works for my sister.

• My sister likes to be out in the community as much as possible. She goes horse riding once a week which is very important to her.

• She goes to the gym twice a week

• She volunteers at the Cats Protection Centre once a week.

• She also enjoys going for a walk around the village, as she knows a lot of people and really enjoys being sociable.

Person specification
The successful applicant will be: 
• Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
• The successful applicant will preferable have experience of working with someone with epilepsy, but if we feel that your personality shines through and you are willing to learn then we would consider someone without.
• The successful applicant will be passionate about being a personal assistant. Be friendly, bubbly and down to earth and enjoy the job. To have a giggle with my sister and to make sure she is kept safe at all times and to help her to lead a fulfilling life.

You will:

• Be willing to have a DBS check (formerly CRB) prior to starting the role
• Be female due to personal care needs
• Have a driving licence and car or willing to drive the family car
• Be able to treat all aspects of your role with confidentiality

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives