Job Title: Personal Assistant/Support Worker
Location: Shoreham-by-Sea
Hourly rate: Between £15 - £18 an hour depending on experience.
Reference: DP5840
Hours/shifts: 13:00 – 15:00, seven days a week. Flexibility would be needed around hours. Job share welcome

Summary

Hi there, nice to meet you.

I’ll start by telling you a little about myself.

I’m a middle aged registered disabled man with limited mobility but I’m not a wheelchair user.

I live on my own in my flat in Shoreham-by-Sea and I’m looking for a new Personal Assistant to support me for a few hours every day. I currently don’t have anyone supporting me, so ideally, I’d like someone to start as soon as possible.

I’m looking for support with all the regular day-to-day things like housework, cleaning, cooking, and personal care. I’ll also need someone who can drive and who would be able to support me with hospital appointments as well as accompanying me to sailability (you don’t have to get wet though, I promise).

On my good days, I also enjoy a nice walk on the Sussex Downs so I’m able to get some fresh air and peace and quiet. I also really like foraging and mushroom picking.

My medical history is a little complicated, so bear with me.

When I was a teenager, I was hit by a car which broke my spine. But this wasn’t discovered for another twenty years (yes, you read that right). When this was discovered, I had spinal fusion surgery to fix it, but this led to further complications, including Degenerative Spinal Disease.

I now live with comorbidities including dystonia, disc bulges and a hernia.

My impairment is also invisible, although I do walk with a stick. This can cause hostility from strangers as they don’t always realise I can’t do everything they can. So as a result I’ve found that I don’t leave the house as much as I used to and get very anxious around new people.

I have no shame in admitting physically i'm quite a fragile person, so there’ll be a lot of training involved so you’re able to provide support in the way that is right for me.

Ultimately, I’m looking for someone long-term who will be able to support me so I can live my best life.

Thanks for taking the time to look through my advert. Hopefully I’ll hear from you soon!

Other Requirements 
• Must be happy to work in a smoking environment
• Must have a UK driving licence
• Must have access to own vehicle

All applicants must undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check.
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description
Typical duties

Domestic - 
Laundry, hanging out to dry, ironing, putting away
Helping with laundry, washing and drying
Loading and unloading the washing machine
Loading and unloading tumble dryer/washing line
Changing bed linen
Bed making
General cleaning
Taking out rubbish
General housework, including cleaning, dusting and vacuuming.
Buying shopping
Minor household maintenance eg changing light bulbs, taking down curtains for washing
Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.
Shopping
Tidying
Correspondence e.g. reading letters, help writing replies, form-filling, assisting with household paperwork
Making phone calls on my behalf when I am too unwell to do this
Making tea for the employer's guests

Personal Care: 
• Supervision and/or assistance with showering cleaning legs and feet, drying.
• Help getting into and out of shower as required
• Help getting to the toilet
• Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings
• Getting into bed
• Help with dispensing tablets
• Assistance with medication i.e. helping to take tablets from foil/packets
• Mealtimes e.g. cutting up food, assistance to eat

Social: 
• Accompanying and assisting employer on trips to sailability at sussex yacht club
• Accompanying employer to doctors/hospital appointments when required
• Accompanying on trips for walks on the downs
The above duties will involve driving the employer in the PA’s car.

Person specification
The successful applicant will be: 
• Able to tolerate the employer smoking in the workplace
• Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
• Reliable with good time-keeping
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
• Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
• Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
• Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
• Honest and cheerful
• Creative
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
• Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives