Job Title: Personal Assistant/Support Worker
Location: Coldwaltham, Pulborough
Hourly rate: £10.00 - £11.00
Reference: DP7128
Hours/shifts: 10 hours per week, 5 hours on 2 x days (flexible)

Summary 

I am a 27-year-old able bodied young man living with my partner and a cat. I am an intelligent, thoughtful and caring young man with a dry sense of humour. I am reserved to begin with but soon open up once I get to know you. I have Autism and suffer from Anxiety & Incontinence. I would like to find someone to assist me with day to day living, as part of a team including my partner and another carer.

My routine is extremely important to me and I require someone that can commit to working with me in my home along with accompanying me whilst out in the community and to medical appointments. I would like someone that can use their own initiative in helping me to plan my day and suggest ideas on gaining new experiences which will benefit my life and well-being.

I would really like someone to support me in becoming more independent and confident as this would greatly improve my quality of life. I would also like to be more confident with access to my local community, taking part in activities that I may find of interest. It would be ideal if you shared some of these interests so we could enjoy them together. Ideally; you will like animals, (I have a cat) and enjoy walking, visiting historic / natural places, coffee or gardening. I enjoy making things.

Other Requirements 
• Must be comfortable with pets
• Must have a UK driving license
• Must have access to own vehicle

• Other :
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Typical duties

Social:
• Support with general life skills, coping skills to reduce anxiety and communication skills
• Build up a trusting and friendly rapport
• Help improve awareness and safety while out in the community and at home
• Assist to access and partake in exercise
• Assist to understand the value of money
• Support and assistance with cooking/baking within the home
• To participate in leisure and social activities of choice eg gym, swimming, walking, climbing, shopping etc.
• Suggest and organise new activities to try out together, I would like to do things that others my age do (cinema, concerts etc)
• To drive me in your own vehicle or mine is required as public transport is not available in my village
• To be happy to drive near and far depending on the activities etc. Mileage allowance.
• Accompanying and assisting trips out.

Personal Care:
• Supervision and/or assistance with showering as required
• Assistance changing incontinence pads, cleaning and applying prescribed creams as required
• Helping choose appropriate clothing, prompting and supervising as required

Domestic:
• Assisting with general housework, including cleaning and vacuuming.
• Preparing drinks and snacks with me, encouraging and prompting me to do this myself safely
• Correspondence e.g. reading letters, help writing replies, form-filling, assisting with household paperwork
• Making phone calls on my behalf

Person specification
The successful applicant will be:
• Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
• Reliable with excellent time-keeping
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative – very important
• Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
• Fit and healthy to undertake required duties
• Honest, cheerful and easy going tolerant personality
• Able to build up a good rapport and basis of trust with employer
• Positive and patient attitude with excellent interpersonal skills
• Previous experience with Autism is preferred but this is not as essential as training can be provided.
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives