Job Title: Personal assistant/support worker (New rates of pay available)
Location: Near Haslemere
Hourly rate: £14 Self-employed PA: £16.50 per hour
Reference: NDS7446
Hours/shifts: 6 hours per week over 3 days. Afternoons.

Summary 

I am a 32-year-old woman looking for a level-headed, down to earth Personal Assistant/support worker to support me with housework, admin and getting out to places.
I like the outdoors and nature. The place I most feel at home in is the woods. I require someone who likes the outdoors to go for walks with me and who will encourage me to be physical as I feel happy when I’m moving and getting fresh air.
I am a very creative person and enjoy singing. I am part of a choir and attend singing lessons. It would be great to find someone who is also creative with a sense of humour.
I have Autism and for me this means that I find bright, loud places overwhelming, although I appear calm on the exterior. During these moments I will need gentle support to help me find peace. I will also require someone who can breakdown and prioritise everyday tasks and other admin tasks in a simple and clear way.

Other Requirements 

• Non-smoker required due to medical reasons
• Must refrain from wearing perfumes during work (As this can trigger asthma and sensory overload).
• Must have a UK driving licence
• Must have access to own vehicle in order to get out to places.
• Be happy to take lateral flow tests prior to coming to work.
• Other :
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check if required.
Successful employed applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts. Self-employed applicants will need to show proof of self-employment.

Description
Typical duties

Domestic 
Assist/support with:
Laundry - hanging out to dry, putting away.
Loading and unloading the washing machine
Changing bed linen
Taking out rubbish, recycling and compost.
General housework, including cleaning, dusting, and vacuuming.
Minor household maintenance e.g. support to prompt and breakdown tasks to complete repairs.
Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.
Shopping if required
Maintenance of small garden
Admin and correspondence e.g. help writing replies, form-filling, assisting with household, employer paperwork. Supporting to breakdown tasks and prioritise work in a simple and clear way.
Making phone calls on my behalf when I am too unwell to do this

Social: 
Accompanying and/assisting on trips out e.g. a friend’s market garden, places in nature, music events.
Accompanying to groups/meetings of interest when required.
The above duties may involve driving me in your car.

Wellbeing:
To understand my Autism can be invisible and that I can mask what I am really feeling and experiencing.
To tune into my responses and respond to these appropriately and with sensitivity.
To empower me feel confident in my everyday life.

Person specification
The successful applicant will be: 
• Respectful of my privacy and confidentiality
• Reliable with good time-keeping
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative.
• Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised, able to prioritise tasks effectively.
• Explain things in a clear and simple way.
• Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
• Patient, empathetic and be a great listener.
• At ease with silence as well as comfortable to have a conversation.
• Genuine, down to earth, cheerful, creative.
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
• Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience (including life experience) preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common-sense approach to these roles.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed/hired directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives