Job Title: Personal Assistant/Support Worker x2
Location: Horsham
Hourly rate: £13.75
Reference: DP1326
Hours/shifts: 9am-3pm Sat and Sunday, 7-8 pm Sunday

• I am a cheerful and sociable 34 year old man who uses a wheelchair fulltime. I need support with daily living tasks; including personal care, domestic tasks and support accessing the community. You will be joining my existing team of PAs and all training will be given

Other Requirements

• Must be comfortable with pets

• Other :
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Typical duties

Domestic - 
Helping with laundry, washing and drying - loading and unloading the washing machine, hanging up to dry, taking down, ironing where required, putting away
Changing bed linen
Bed making
General cleaning
Taking out rubbish
General housework, including cleaning, dusting and vacuuming.
Minor household maintenance eg changing light bulbs, taking down curtains for washing
Preparing drinks, snacks and meals
Making breakfast juice, preparing meals, “stock” cooking for meals to go into the freezer, preparing a smoothie for evening meal
Occasional cat and dog care – feeding, clearing litter tray, taking for walks etc.
Correspondence e.g. reading letters, help writing replies, form-filling, assisting with household paperwork
Making phone calls on my behalf when I am too unwell/ stressed / confused to do this
Making drinks for the employer's guests

Personal Care: 
Washing and bathing/showering – towelling dry/ drying hair
Supervision and/or assistance with showering, drying, hair washing/ brushing as required
Help getting into and out of shower as required
Help with shaving
Assistance with applying cream
General hair/skin care
Catheter care, training
Assistance with using the toilet
Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings
Assistance with getting out of bed
Helping with other aspects of personal care as required.
Getting in and out of the wheelchair ('transferring')
Mealtimes possible support

Accompanying and assisting employer on shopping trips when required
Accompany employer when accessing social and leisure activities
Accompanying employer to doctors/hospital appointments when required
Accompanying when clothes-buying, including help with un/dressing and lifting clothes on/off the rails
Occasional longer journeys
Accompanying on trips out e.g. to the library, the vet, to see family
Driving and accompanying to social events such as:
Accompanying to social meetings eg friends, family
The above duties involve driving the employer in the PA’s car or accompanying on public transport, lifting the wheelchair in/out of car, pushing the employer’s wheelchair when needed.

Person specification
The successful applicant will be: 
• Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
• Reliable with good time-keeping
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
• Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
• Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
• Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
• Honest and cheerful
• Creative
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
• Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this role you will be employed directly through the individual and not Independent Lives.