Job Title: Personal Assistant

Location: Broadbridge Heath, nr. Horsham

Hourly rate: £9.50 Weekdays/ £11.50 Weekends/ £13.00 Waking Nights         

Reference: VC3741             

Hours/shifts: 3- 4 evenings and 2 waking nights (which could be combined with evening shifts once you’ve got to know me) per week - to be worked by one person or as a Job Share –times to be mutually agreed.  Day time hours also available on occasion.



I am a young man seeking to employ new PAs to join my existing team to support me socially and with personal care, so that I can have a full life and remain as independent as possible


I enjoy playing the Xbox, Boccia and going to the Cinema


I am reliant on Carers for help with all tasks, but am able to tell them what I need doing


I use an electric wheelchair during the day to get around


You will need to be a confident and experienced driver, prepared to drive a wheelchair adapted vehicle so that I can go out occasionally



Other Requirements

  • Must be comfortable with pets - I have a Bearded Dragon Lizard which lives in a vivarium
  • Must be happy to work in a non-smoking environment
  • Must have a UK driving licence

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check

Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Job Description

About Me:

I have Duchennes Muscular Dystrophy which means I am unable to walk or do anything physical.

It affects my muscles which are gradually getting weaker.

I am friendly and sociable with a great sense of humour.

I like people to talk to me and ask me how I would like to do things.

My Family and friends are very important to me and I like to get together with my friends to socialise.

My hobbies and interests include; playing X box, going to the cinema, live music and playing Boccia and anything to do with cars. I also like reptiles and have a bearded dragon as a pet.

Although I have physical disabilities I do not necessarily require a PA who has experience with this as full training will be provided.  I am more interested in finding someone who is like minded who will enjoy the things I do and who I get on with.


Nature of the Work:


I am looking for new PAs to join my existing team to work 3- 4 evenings (to help me get to bed) and 2 waking nights (which could be combined with evening shifts once you’ve got to know me) per week - to be worked by one person or as a Job Share as mutually agreed.  Day time hours also available on occasion.


The role will be mostly supporting me within my home and to occasionally support me to access social activities either on my own or with my friends and family.


There will be help needed to manage my urine bottle and I may need hoisting in and out of bed/bath/wheelchair and assistance with bathing/washing and dressing. I will also need assistance with eating, drinking and preparing snacks.

Typical duties

Domestic -       

General light housework

Preparing drinks, snacks and meals


Personal Care: 

  • Support with using urine bottle
  • Assistance with transfers using a hoist (in/out of wheelchair or bed)
  • Helping with other aspects of personal care as required, e.g. supporting me in the bath and getting me dressed
  • Mealtimes e.g. cutting up food, assistance to eat and drink


  • Accompanying and assisting me on shopping trips when required
  • Accompany me when accessing social and leisure activities
  • Driving and accompanying to social activities such as:
  • Cinema
  • Pub or coffee shops
  • Trips into town
  • Meeting up with friends
  • The above duties will involve driving me in our specially adapted car
  • Whilst on duty at my home watching TV such as F1 racing, Big Bang Theory and Top Gear, playing X Box, watching films and also assisting with other indoor activities

Person specification

The successful applicant will be: 

  • Male or female
  • Non-smoker
  • Hold a UK Driving licence
  • Respectful of my privacy and confidentiality
  • Reliable with good time-keeping
  • Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
  • Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
  • Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
  • Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
  • Honest and cheerful
  • Creative
  • Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
  • Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
  • Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety

Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.


Additional Information

Location is only 5 minutes from the bus stop and there is plenty of car parking space