Location: Lindfield, Haywards Heath / Hourly rate: £9 / Reference: LR6379

Summary

  • One or two Personal Assistants PAs/ Support Workers to support me, a woman in my forties with daily living .
  • Some personal care and light domestic tasks.
  • Supporting me in the community to enable me to enjoy my various interests including art, crafts, books, fashion and visiting places of interest often with my small dog. 

Hours/Shifts

18 hours per week

Monday –  Friday  afternoons

 average 3.5 hours a day

days and times to be mutually agreed

Job share available

Other Requirements

  • "Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9." 
  • Must be comfortable with pets
  • Must have a UK driving licence
  • Must have access to own vehicle

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check

Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description

About the employer:

I am looking for a reliable and lively and sociable  PA  to support me with daily living, including some personal care, light domestic tasks and to support me to  access the community, doing activities I enjoy. I also require someone to accompany me to the swimming pool. 

Typical duties

Domestic -       

  • Laundry, hanging out to dry, ironing, putting away
  • Helping with laundry, washing and drying 
  • Loading and unloading the washing machine
  • Loading and unloading airer 
  • Changing bed linen
  • Bed making
  • General cleaning
  • Taking out rubbish
  • General housework, including cleaning, dusting and vacuuming. 
  • Minor household maintenance eg changing light bulbs, taking down curtains for washing
  • Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.
  • Shopping
  • Tidying
  • Correspondence e.g. reading letters, help writing replies, form-filling, assisting with household paperwork
  • Making phone calls on my behalf when I am too unwell to do this
  • Making tea for the employer's guests
  • Being on hand when employer takes a shower.
  • Help getting into and out of shower as required
  • Help with dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings
  • Help with dispensing tablets.
  • Assistance with medication i.e. helping take tablets from packets.

Social:         

  • Accompanying and assisting employer on shopping trips when required
  • Accompany employer when accessing social and leisure activities, such as visits to family
  • Driving and accompanying on trips out eg to the garden centre, beach, cinema, craft fairs, local visits, out shopping for fun, attending social events. 
  • Accompanying to social meetings eg friends, family
  • Accompany employer to the swimming pool.
  • The above duties will involve driving the employer in the PA’s car. 

Person specification

The successful applicant will be: 

  • Female* due to personal care needs
  • Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
  • Reliable with good time-keeping
  • Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
  • Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
  • Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
  • Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
  • Honest and cheerful
  • Creative
  • Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
  • Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
  • Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
  • Experience of working with young people on the autistic spectrum