Job Title: Personal Buddy
Location:   Horsham         
Hourly rate:     £9.20 per hour plus expenses    
Reference:   DP5504          
Hours/shifts: Monday, Tuesday or Friday 3.15pm to 6.15pm or later. Term time and school holidays
Summary 
- I am looking for a Personal Buddy for my 14 year old son
- He has Autism and Global Development Delay
- I would need you to take him out and help him access the community
- He like Transformers, Hero Factory and Gaming
- He also likes to go swimming and sometimes shopping.
- Support with learning how to be social for his age.
- To encourage him to try new things rather than do what he wants.
Other Requirements 
• Must have a UK driving licence 
• Must have access to own vehicle 
• Other :  
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.
Description
Typical duties
Social:        
• Accompanying and assisting my son on shopping trips when required
• Accompanying him on Social and Leisure activities
• Activities could include football or swimming depending on what my son wants to do that day.
• We would like him to be encouraged to try new things.
• Support with learning how to be social for his age
 Person specification
The successful applicant will be:   
• Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
• Reliable with good time-keeping
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
• Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
• Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
• Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
• Honest and cheerful
• Creative
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
• Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.
Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives