Job Title: Support Worker

Location: Shoreham-by-Sea           

Hourly rate:  £9 per hour      

Reference:   DP5427          

Hours/shifts: 8 mornings per calendar month 9am – 2pm

Summary

  • I am looking for a female personal care assistant to help get me out of bed in the mornings.
  • Help with toileting. Shower, getting me dressed and my breakfast.
  • There are a few light household duties.
  • I need someone who is reliable and can do every other weekend the two weekday shifts are negotiable to share with my other carers.
  • I live within walking distance to Southwick Station and am within walking distance of lots of bus routes as I am very close to Holmbush Tesco/M & S.  There is free parking in my Road and sometimes driveway use to my bungalow.
  • I am tetraplegic, spinal cord injury. I am a permanent wheelchair user (Manual) I need help with most tasks, but I am striving to regain as much independence as possible and can help with all transfers. 

 

  • I have two energetic Jack Russell Terriers who are friendly but noisy when someone comes to the door! We have dog gates in place for easy opening of front door and dog safety.
  • My current carers have all been with me for a long time and we are a happy easy-going lot. We all work as a team and try to hand over to each other making sure things are as organized, for the next person on shift, as possible.
  • Although I have kept some things on the list below i.e. Helping me get in and out of my car, accompanying me to doctors etc. These trips and tasks are more commonly made in the afternoon and do not concern the morning staff.
  • If you would ever be interested in extra day/sleeping night work, I am always looking for holiday cover but in the first instance I need to cover the mornings.
  • I am looking for someone who is reliable, fit, healthy and able to undertake the tasks required

Other Requirements

  • Must be comfortable with pets          

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check

Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description

Typical duties

Domestic -

Laundry, hanging out to dry, ironing, putting away

Loading and unloading the washing machine

Loading and unloading washing line

Changing bed linen

Bed making

General cleaning

Taking out rubbish

General housework, including cleaning, dusting and vacuuming.

Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.

Shopping (Possibly at times)

Maintenance of small garden, perhaps half an hour a week (If at all)

Tidying

Making phone calls on my behalf when I am too unwell to do this

Making tea for the employer's guests

Personal Care:  

Using the toilet (Suppository needed/training given)

Assistance with showering, washing hair and towel drying

Assistance with applying cream

General hair/skin care

Catheter care (Nurses change this) Connect or disconnect urine bag

Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings

Assistance with getting out of bed using a slide sheet onto shower chair

Help with dispensing tablets 

Assistance with medication i.e. helping to take tablets from foil/packets

Getting in and out of the wheelchair ('transferring') with slide board

Mealtimes e.g. Preparing and cutting up food (no assistance with eating needed)

Physiotherapy exercises

In all aspects of personal care help and training will be available

Social:            

I am able to drive my own vehicle. I just need help getting in and out of my vehicle

Accompanying and assisting employer on shopping trips when required

Accompanying employer to doctors/hospital appointments when required

Occasional longer journeys

Accompanying on trips out e.g. Trips to the doctors the vet, to see family.

Accompanying to social meetings eg friends, family

Lifting the folding wheelchair in/out of car, pushing the employer’s manual wheelchair when out.