Job Title: Personal Care assistant

Location:  Winchester

Hourly rate:  £9.50 per hour

Reference:   HCC362 

Hours/shifts: 12 hours per week

 

Summary

 

Experience in the care profession including some medical experience preferred, position consists of personal care, household chores, food preparation.  Assist with outings for appointments, at hospitals, dentist, podiatrist and family/social gatherings and shopping/ meeting friends for coffee and business meetings.

Hoist Training can be given, and you will spend a fair amount of time shadowing my current PCA’s.

 

Driver with own car and lover of dogs and cat essential

 

Possibility of extra hours in future dependent on care plan.

 

 

 

Other Requirements       

  • Must be comfortable with pets
  • Must have a UK driving licence
  • Must have access to own vehicle

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check

Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description

Typical duties

Domestic -       

Laundry, hanging out to dry, ironing, putting away

Helping with laundry, washing and drying

Loading and unloading the washing machine

Laundry on washing line

Changing bed linen

Bed making

General cleaning

Taking out rubbish

General housework, including cleaning, dusting and vacuuming.

Minor household maintenance eg changing light bulbs, taking down curtains for washing

Preparing drinks, snacks and meals and washing up

Shopping

Maintenance of small garden, perhaps half an hour a week

Assist with feeding dogs and cats

Tidying

Correspondence e.g. assisting with household paperwork filing

Making phone calls on my behalf when I am too unwell to do this

Making tea for the employer's guests

 

Personal Care: 

Doubly incontinent

Use hoist for showering which training will be given. 

Washing and showering – towelling dry/ drying hair

assistance with showering, drying, hair washing/ brushing as required

Help getting into and out of bath/shower as required

Assistance with applying cream

General hair/skin care

Catheter care/urosotomy bag

Continence care

Using the toilet

Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings

Getting into bed

Assistance with getting out of bed using transfer boards s

Helping with other aspects of personal care as required, for example assisting employer to get changed in swimming pool/gym.

Getting in and out of the wheelchair ('transferring')

Physiotherapy exercises

Social:   

Accompanying and assisting employer on shopping trips when required

Accompany employer when accessing social and leisure activities, including to exercise classes

Accompanying employer to doctors/hospital/Dentist appointments when required

Accompanying when clothes-buying, including help with un/dressing and lifting clothes on/off the rails.

Occasional longer journeys

Accompanying on trips out e.g. to the vet, to see family and friends push chair on dog walks.

Driving and accompanying to social events such as:

Cinema

Church

Evening meetings

Accompanying on trips out eg to the garden centre, beach, cinema,local visits, out shopping for fun, attending social events, attending therapies and disability group Accompanying to social meetings eg friends, family

The above duties will involve driving the employer in your car, lifting the folding wheelchair in/out of car, pushing the employer’s wheelchair when out. 

Lifting the folding wheelchair in/out of car, pushing the employer’s manual wheelchair when out

Person specification

Female or Male   

Able to tolerate the employer smoking but outside only

Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality

Reliable with good time-keeping

Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative

Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised

Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties

Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills

Honest,  cheerful, friendly and trustworthy

Creative

Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard

Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom

Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety

Previous experience preferred