Job Title: Female * Personal Care Assistant/ Support worker
Location: Crawley Down
Hourly rate: £11.00
Reference: DP7017
Hours/shifts: 15- 16 hours a week 8am -11am Monday to Friday term –time.
16 hours a week during school holidays actual days and hours by mutual agreement.


• I am mum to my 4 year old daughter and I have multiple sclerosis (MS) living in Crawley Down with my family and small friendly dog.
• I love shopping particularly shopping for chocolate!
• I am looking for a reliable and motivational PA with a good sense of humour to support me with daily living tasks essentially assisting me with taking my daughter to school hence the early start during term time.
• Often I’m not sure what tasks need doing, so I welcome initiative and motivation.
• Tasks will include personal care, light domestic duties and accessing the community.
• This is a rewarding role with all professional training provided.

Other Requirements 

"Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9."

• Non-smoker preferred or someone who is willing to refrain from smoking during work
• Must be comfortable with pets
• A UK driving license is required
• Other :
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.


Typical duties


• Helping with laundry, washing and drying
• Loading and unloading the washing machine
• Loading and unloading tumble dryer
• Changing bed linen
• Bed making
• General cleaning
• Taking out rubbish
• General housework, including cleaning, dusting and vacuuming.
• Preparing drinks and snacks
• Help put shopping away
• Tidying
• Correspondence e.g. reading letters, help writing replies, form-filling, assisting with household paperwork
• Making phone calls on my behalf when I am too unwell to do this

Personal Care: 

• Supervision and/or assistance with showering, drying, hair washing/ brushing as required
• Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings for employer and employers daughter.
• Getting in and out of the wheelchair ('transferring')


• Accompanying and assisting employer to take her daughter to school.
• Accompanying and assisting employer on shopping trips when required
• Accompany employer when accessing social and leisure activities,
• Accompanying employer to doctors/hospital appointments when required
• Accompanying when clothes-buying, including help with un/dressing and lifting clothes on/off the rails.
• Occasional longer journeys
• Accompanying on trips out e.g. to the library, the vet, to see family.
• The above duties could involve driving the employer in the employer’s car, lifting the folding wheelchair in/out of car, pushing the employer’s wheelchair when out. Alternatively, I would use my walking stick or frame.

Person specification:

The successful applicant will be: 

• Female* due to personal care needs
• Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
• Reliable with good time-keeping
• Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
• Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
• Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
• Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills
• Honest and cheerful
• Creative
• Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
• Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
• Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives