Job Title: Personal Care Assistants
Location: East Preston
Hourly rate: Daytime support pay will be £10.40 per hour Monday to Sunday between 7am – 8.30pm and sleep in night care is paid at £78.22 per night (8.30pm- 7am). Bank holidays will be paid at £15.60 per hour between 7am and 8.30pm.
Reference: DP4161
Hours/shifts: We are currently seeking a team of personal care assistants to provide support in shifts and a bank personal care assistant to help cover sickness, holidays etc. Indicative shift patterns are set out below, although we may be able to be flexible regarding shift hours.

Monday to Thursday 8:00 – 17:00
Monday to Thursday 16:30- 8:30
Friday and Saturday 8:00 – 19:00
Friday and Saturday 18:30 – 8:30
Sunday: 8:00- 15:30
Sunday 15:00 – Monday 8:30

Shift times are flexible and can be changed to suit the appropriate candidate.

Summary

Hello! Thanks for taking the time to read my advert.

I’m a twenty two year old woman with Dyskinetic Cerebral Palsy and Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD). I’m looking for a team of people that can support me both around the house and when I go out and about.

I live with my mum in East Preston. Home is where I feel most comfortable, but I would like to find someone that pushes me out of my comfort zone a little bit and encourages me to go out (when I feel up to it).

I’ve just come back from being away at residential college for three years so I’m still learning how to get back into the swing of things.

I’m still a bit anxious about COVID, so when I do leave the house, I like to be in nice open spaces, like Ferring Country Club that I go to every now and then.

I’m a really happy person, so I’d like someone who’s equally upbeat and enjoys having fun! I also really enjoy being pampered, and if you’d be willing to join in that would be amazing!

I’m also looking for someone who has a lot of patience. I want someone who will take the time to listen to me and understand exactly what I need from them. I get frustrated when people can’t do that – especially when they finish my sentences for me.

Because of my ASD I also don’t deal with change well and can find any change to my routine very difficult, so I need someone who is reliable and able to stick to a daily schedule.

Finally, I want someone who can help me to build my confidence and allow me to be as independent as possible. If you can support with me with that, then I’m sure we’ll get on really well.

I hope to hear from you soon!

Other Requirements
• Must be comfortable with pets
• Non-smoker preferred or someone who is willing to refrain from smoking during work hours.
• Must have a Clean UK driving licence
• Must have access to own vehicle due to job location
• Other :
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description
Typical duties

Domestic:
Laundry, hanging out to dry, ironing, putting away
Helping with laundry, washing and drying
Loading and unloading the washing machine
Loading and unloading tumble dryer/washing line
Changing bed linen
Bed making
General housework, including cleaning, dusting and vacuuming.
Preparing drinks, snacks and meals.
Shopping
Tidying, Complete paperwork, documenting behaviour, and risk management.
Any other reasonable task

Personal Care:
Washing and bathing/showering – towelling dry/drying hair
Supervision and/or assistance with showering, drying, hair washing/ brushing as required
Help getting into and out of bath/shower as required
To be on call when employer takes bath
Assistance with applying cream
General hair/skin care
Using the toilet and assistance with a daily enema. Training will be provided if necessary.
Dressing and undressing/ helping with buttons and fastenings
Getting into bed
Help with dispensing tablets
Assistance with medication i.e. helping to take tablets from foil/packets
Getting in and out of the wheelchair ('transferring')
Any other reasonable task

Social:
Accompanying and assisting employer on shopping trips when required
Accompany when accessing social and leisure activities,
Accompanying to doctors/hospital appointments when required
Accompany when accessing social and leisure activities, including to swimming
Accompanying when clothes-buying, including help with un/dressing and lifting clothes on/off the rails.
Driving and accompanying to social events such as: Cinema, concerts, and seeing friends and family.
Any other reasonable task
Person specification
The successful applicant should have
Excellent communication, organisational and listening skills
Knowledge of Cerebral Palsy and/or care work would be beneficial
Patience and a caring and supportive attitude
Honesty, motivation, and the ability to work within a family home setting
An ability to swim to provide support with hydrotherapy

Previous experience with gastrostomy care preferred, but this is not as essential as training will be provided.

Please note, if you are successful in your application for this position you will be employed directly by the individual employer and not Independent Lives