Job Title: Personal Care & Social Support Assistant

Location: Crawley          

Hourly rate: £10.00     

Reference: Part Time            

Hours/shifts: Two positions available.

 

Role 1 – Mon-Fri 11am-2.30pm

Role 2 – Sat & Sun – 11am-2.30pm

 

Summary

2 x part time PA’s required in Crawley - £10.00 ph
Mainly Social and Domestic support with some personal care.
No car ownership or driving required.

Two positions available – 17 hpw & 5 hpw

Hours 11 am-2.30 pm

 

I am a Middle aged gentleman with MS looking to engage an  assistant to:


To assist me to access my local community in my electric wheelchair and assist me to access properties by way of my mobile folding wheelchair ramp.

 

On other occasions, accompany me to access these places via a wheelchair taxi if the distance is too far or in bad weather. (Please note that there is no driving required in this job role.)

 

Assist me with my MS exercises on my arms and legs as and when required.

 

Assists with general daily household domestic tasks.

 

Assist with occasional grass cutting and general household cleaning tasks.

 

Occasional personal care will be required when my wife or agency is unavailable.

 

 

Other Requirements

All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check

Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

Description

I live together with my wife in an adapted apartment in Crawley.

 

I was diagnosed with MS a few years ago and I am finding it increasingly difficult and sometimes impossible to carry out daily living tasks and accessing my local community without support.

 

I am fully able to express my views and wishes and currently looking to employ two easy going and polite/reliable PA’s to assist me in maintaining my independence, enhancing my day to day life and to give my wife some much needed daily respite.

 

 

Typical duties

Domestic -       

Assist with tasks such as:

General housework, including cleaning, dusting and vacuuming.

Cleaning windows,

as well as with occasional grass cutting

Tidying

Preparing drinks & snacks

 

Personal Care: 

To assist me to run through a basic physio exercise regime to help me manipulate my arms and legs.

 

As I have MS, these exercises are extremely important to me in keeping my limbs subtle as well as reducing pain. The exercises are very basic and no heavy lifting or physical exertion is required by the employee.

Occasional personal care.

 

Social: 

Assist me to access the local community in my electric wheelchair.

 

Assist me to visit shops, friends, attend meetings and religious worship etc.

 

Accompany me to access places by means of a wheelchair taxi.

Person specification

The successful applicant will be: 

Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality

Reliable with good time-keeping

Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative

Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised

Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties

Patience and possess excellent interpersonal skills

Honest and cheerful

Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard

Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom

Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety

Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to the role.