Job Title: Personal Care/ Support Worker
Job location: Lindfield
Hours/shifts:   Monday, Wednesday & Saturday nights. 1-1.5 hrs per shift
Saturday mornings may also be available. 1 - 1.75 hrs per shift
Hourly Rate: £12 per hour
"Exemption is claimed under the Equality Act 2010 Part 1 Schedule 9. 
 
• Must be happy to work in a non smoking environment 
• Must have a UK driving licence 
• Must have access to own vehicle 
• Other : 
All applicants must be willing to undertake an Enhanced Disclosure & Barring Service check
Successful applicants will be entitled to Holiday pay and will be issued employment contracts.

• Female Personal Care Assistants needed for bed time. 
• Job share available. I have Monday,Wednesday & Saturday nights available and you will be assisting me on your own. This routine takes approximately 1 to 1.5 hrs
• I am looking for cheerful, capable and reliable ladies to help me with my nightly going to bed routine starting at 10 pm.
• I am physically disabled having had Muscular Dystrophy for many years.
• I use a powered wheelchair to get around.
• I live with my husband in Lindfield. We are in our early seventies, have a son & daughter & four teenage grandchildren.
• I enjoy being with family, meeting friends, eating out & other social activities.
• I like the theatre, cinema, art, reading & music, birds & gardens, interested in people & current affairs.
• An awareness of disability & experience of working with a disabled person would be valuable but not essential. I employ other care assistants who will be available to guide you through my routine initially
• I am also able to ask for and explain the help I need with tasks 
    
Typical Tasks will include
Domestic -    
Preparing bed if needed.
Loading/unloading the washing machine as required
Hanging up laundry in boiler room if required
Loading/unloading tumble dryer.
Drying up crockery & cutlery as required.
Tidying & wiping clean kitchen surfaces.
Taking out rubbish.
Preparing drinks.
Filling hot water bottle.
Opening or closing of windows as required.
Locking external doors.
Personal Care
Transferring me out of wheelchair onto commode using battery powered mobile hoist.
Pushing me on commode to and positioning over toilet in shower room. (Toilet washes & dries me)
Pushing back to bedroom.
Transferring from commode onto bed using hoist.
Full help required with undressing and putting on nightclothes. Hanging/folding up clothes as required.
Assistance applying creams sometimes required.
Physiotherapy passive exercise moving of legs as required.
Positioning me in bed, arranging bed clothes, taking care to place things that are needed within reach.
Assistance with taking medication.
Putting hoist and wheelchairs on charge.
Person Specification -The successful applicant will be:
Female due to personal care needs
A kind,cheerful and flexible person
Honest and reliable, with good time-keeping
Respectful of the employer’s privacy and confidentiality
Able to both follow instructions and work on own initiative
Hygienic, tidy minded and well organised
Fit and healthy to undertake the required duties
Patient and possess excellent interpersonal skills
Able to speak and read English to a reasonable standard
Legally permitted to work in the United Kingdom
Able to work at all times to high standards of Health & Safety
Previous experience preferred but this is not as essential as a kind and common sense approach to these roles.